Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I didn't know making homemade popcorn could be so easy! Now that I have made it, I am never going to buy microwave popcorn again! I think everyone should make their popcorn homemade. It tastes a lot better : ) Note: I did make a slight change. I didn't have peanut oil so I used canola oil. The popcorn tasted fantastic! My friend loved it and took half the batch home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow-- so easy! Why didn't I think of this before? I did switch the peanut oil/ butter ratio for a more buttery flavor. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
To make it really taste like movie theater popcorn, after popping place it in a large turkey roaster and bake it in the oven at 250 for about 15 minutes. It takes all the chewiness out and will keep in a sealed container for days. Sunflower oil is great too, has a much lighter taste. Also, we love our Whirly-Pop pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I agree, the home ingredients are tastier and probably better for us, especially the oils. I do use one of my microwave popcorn bowels now - I don't like scorching the popcorn on the stove top. And I use Canola or olive oil on doctor's orders and only two tablespoons. Sometimes I sneak in a bit of butter too. Or, for a special treat I also might add some powdered cheddar cheese after popping not before, and no butter. Using the microwave cooker I can pop the corn without any oil at all but if I am going to coat later with cheddar cheese I find that I need to put the oil in so the corn has something for the cheddar to stick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very Good, I never buy micro-wave corn anymore. Instead of using oils, or butters, I use Bacon Grease. about 2 tablespoons, let it heat up, do the same test, 2-3 kernels at first, then put in the rest and when done; top off with salt and butter. Serve with a big ole glass of cold sweet Iced Tea. That is movie watching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made popcorn on the stove for my grand daughters and they were fascinated!! They wanted some of the cheese flavoring sprinkled on top, but I didn't have any.. so instead decided to try sprinkling the popcorn with some Cinnamon/sugar and it was a real HIT. Can't beat the sweet and salty combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Oh, yes. This is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wow! My kids had this gone in no time! It was easy and delicious! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I agree with the recipe submitter about the artificial ingredients in microwave popcorn, not to mention the use of radiation oven to cook it. I prefer to good ole' stovetop way. I use plain white seeds and olive oil. I sprinkle a bit of salt and some fresh cracked pepper. I even make this to take to the movie theatre with me. It makes a light snack for anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great! Cut recipe in 1/2. Used 1 Tbl coconut oil and 1 tbl butter with 1/4 cup popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States