Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Excellent! I'd never thought home made popcorn could taste so wonderful and far better than microwave types. I've used vegetable oil since this is what I've had on hand, but I'll have to try it with the peanut oil sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was made easily! First time making popcorn, and I thought it was going to turn out wrong but I was wrong. I used this to make caramel corn, so I did not add the butter or salt, which is why it is rated on 4 stars. Don't forget to constantly shake pan. Also, tilt the lid slightly so popcorn doesn't come out tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This has become a family favorite! My family chooses this over chips or other snacks on a regular basis! I skip the butter because it always seemed to burn in my Stir Crazy popper. I also use olive oil & sea salt. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very easy, worked great. I used coconut oil (saturated fats that come from plant sources are OK) and did the 3 kernel first method. Once it was almost all popped, I dumped out all of the popcorn into a brown paper bag and set the pot with unpopped kernels back over the stove until they had popped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Peanut oil is better than canola but coconut oil is by far the best tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Too salty. Do NOT use 1/2 tsp salt!! Mine kind of burned too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
We were all a little disappointed with this version of "stove-top" popcorn, as my kids call it. I found the salt almost burning on the bottom of the pan. The oil & butter combo was less heat tolerant than my usual peanut oil. All in all, I will stick with my version of "Stove-Top" and add the butter & salt just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Wisniewski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is a fun recipe to make w/the kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Did not turn out the way I expected :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Can't figure out the big deal. First, I grew up making popcorn in a pan like this, and still do it all the time. An air popper is dry and microwave is full of trans fat and such. I also have put the butter into the pan for a long time, when I use butter. Except I agree with the person who said if you stick the butter in with the oil immediately, it just burns and doesn't work. You have to wait until it starts popping -- have it on like a knife ready to go. Wait until it's just getting a good pop going, but no longer or it won't melt right. Open the lid enough to get the knife through and just scrap it on the side and let it slide down. If it hasn't popped too much, it'll melt as it pops. Too soon and it burns, or just cools it down so it stops popping. Too late and it doesn't really melt. It can take a little practice to get it perfect. I've done this for years. (Though I don't have peanut oil around. And I absolutely will put more salt on anyway cause I'm unfortunately a salt-aholic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States