Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Right. Will be selling the air popper on ebay post haste. How yummy was THAT? I won't make popcorn any other way from now on. This is really the safest, healthiest way and super easy. I followed the advice of a reviewer who said she added four tablespoons of butter and only one tablespoon of oil (I used canola). I really like buttery popcorn but I think I'll cut the butter back next time to three tablespoons because it was really rich/buttery with four tablespoons. I used "I Can't Believe it's not butter" stick butter straight from the fridge. I have an induction cooktop so I didn't really do the shaking thing as induction requires direct magnetic reaction to the bottom of your pot in order to heat well/evenly. It came out great. One tip: I sprayed the bottom and sides of the pan with cooking spray and nothing stuck. Yeeeeee-haw!! Fresh, safe popcorn. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Wonderful! I made it with Coconut Oil rather than peanut oil, and sprinkled it with Nutritional Yeast before serving. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Have been making it this way for quite awhile now--very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is one of the first things I learned how to make on my own and I've got the scar between my forehead from a freshly popped kernel to prove it! A couple of notes: Don't lift the lid until your popcorn is mostly popped - if you let out the steam it doesn't pop as well. As well, my husband and daughter love flavored popcorn. I found it best to add flavorings after the popcorn has been lightly coated with butter. We've tried microwave, air popped and stovetop popcorn with and without butter, and this seems to be the best method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Absolutely love this popcorn - it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
great popcorn could use a little more butter though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Haverhill, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love popcorn with butter, but it's so greasy that I can't eat much of it. This recipe gives the popcorn a nice butter flavor and just enough salt to make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
wow. I just made this and wow great flavor. I sub margerine for the butter and vegetable oil for the peanut oil. Definately will be using this recipe when i make popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious! I love over the stove popcorn but always had the problem of soggy popcorn from adding butter after its popped. Never thought to add before it popped. Great butter flavor and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Molalla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My mom always made us stove top popcorn and therefore that's how I've always made it too. I've never been a big fan of buttered popcorn because it just makes it too mushy and there's normally waaaaaay too much of it. I have to say though that adding the butter to the pan is fantastc and you can adjust the amount to your own liking!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States