Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We eat popcorn all the time...great CHEAP snack food that our grandchildren love! You may want to check into a whirly whirl popcorn cooker. It has a wire spinner that you turn as the popcorn cooks. It is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I could live off of this popcorn. I like canola oil best and omit the butter. I let the pot heat, add the oil and three kernals of corn, add the remaining corn after the first three pop, and shake, shake, shake. I only use 2 T of oil; I have non-stick pots, don't know if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This way of making popcorn was great! After making three batches of popcorn, we ended up changing/doing the following: The total amount of oil/butter in the recipe is 5 Tbs. Our boys like extra butter flavor, so we used only 1 Tbs. of oil and then used 4 Tbs. butter (we use Earth’s Balance non-hydrogenated vegan ‘butter’). The larger amount of butter to oil gave us the stronger buttery taste we wanted. Since I have always used ½ tsp. of salt for every ½ cup of corn, I added all salt at once, along with the corn and 4 Tbs. (1/4 cup) butter. Melting and cooking the butter right in the pot was great. Having the extra oil in the pot - instead of pouring it over the finished popcorn - prevented the corn from burning – a great tip! As the recipe said, I took the pot off the stove when the kernel pops were about 2 seconds apart - no burning or sticking! Another great tip! We like to stir in nutritional yeast flakes (available at health-food stores) before eating. It gives a nice ‘cheesy’ flavor and is very nutritional. I now have a new way to make popcorn! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Kunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Perfect blend of salt & butter! Best stovetop popcorn I've had yet. We make this recipe over and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
My family loves this. It is better than the movies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is by far the best popcorn recipe I've come across! It has lots of flavor without being too greasy and stays nice and crisp. I followed the ingredients list, but divided the recipe in half, which was just enough for two. This is a keeper and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Man! That's good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I make stove-top popcorn all the time, but this recipe perfects the process! I do use olive oil, even with the risk of it burning. I love the idea of adding salt and butter (I used Smart Balance, though)while it cooks. I always throw in a kernel while the oil heats and when it pops I know to add the popcorn. The butter and salt must have some effect because the popcorn didn't start popping for awhile, whereas it always has done so when I just used oil. This is the most evenly salted and flavored popcorn ever! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was perfect! Tasted just like movie theater popcorn. I took the advice of a another review and used 1 Tbsp oil/4 Tbsp butter, and it was great. I also used vegetable oil because I had nothing else, and it turned out just fine. Thanks for the sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I don't know why anyone makes microwave popcorn, when the stove top method is easy and so much better. I make it like Lisa Douglas (review below) - canola oil, throw in a couple of kernels and wait until they pop and then throw in the remainder. Because the oil is at the popping temperature, there is little need to shake it - just a couple times and within a minute or two your popcorn is ready. I also keep flavored salts on hand - like cheddar cheese, to shake on top once it's done. Cheap and way better than the micro. If you find your popcorn doesn't pop well, try this: add a tablespoon or two of water to your container of popcorn, shake it up and let it absorb for a day or two. The moisture in the kernels is what makes it pop. Edit: I have to make a revision. Although Canola oil generally is healthier, high heati creates trans fats which are BAD for you. Peanut oil is a better choice because it has a higher smoke point. (Coconut oil, while having a high smoke point, is high in saturated fats and one of the unhealthiest.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States