Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good, but nothing special in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've been making popcorn the old fashioned way for years. The only thing I would add is be sure you use WHITE popcorn kernals. It really tastes better then the yellow corn for some reason. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I didn't know making homemade popcorn could be so easy! Now that I have made it, I am never going to buy microwave popcorn again! I think everyone should make their popcorn homemade. It tastes a lot better : ) Note: I did make a slight change. I didn't have peanut oil so I used canola oil. The popcorn tasted fantastic! My friend loved it and took half the batch home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow-- so easy! Why didn't I think of this before? I did switch the peanut oil/ butter ratio for a more buttery flavor. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
To make it really taste like movie theater popcorn, after popping place it in a large turkey roaster and bake it in the oven at 250 for about 15 minutes. It takes all the chewiness out and will keep in a sealed container for days. Sunflower oil is great too, has a much lighter taste. Also, we love our Whirly-Pop pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I agree, the home ingredients are tastier and probably better for us, especially the oils. I do use one of my microwave popcorn bowels now - I don't like scorching the popcorn on the stove top. And I use Canola or olive oil on doctor's orders and only two tablespoons. Sometimes I sneak in a bit of butter too. Or, for a special treat I also might add some powdered cheddar cheese after popping not before, and no butter. Using the microwave cooker I can pop the corn without any oil at all but if I am going to coat later with cheddar cheese I find that I need to put the oil in so the corn has something for the cheddar to stick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very Good, I never buy micro-wave corn anymore. Instead of using oils, or butters, I use Bacon Grease. about 2 tablespoons, let it heat up, do the same test, 2-3 kernels at first, then put in the rest and when done; top off with salt and butter. Serve with a big ole glass of cold sweet Iced Tea. That is movie watching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made popcorn on the stove for my grand daughters and they were fascinated!! They wanted some of the cheese flavoring sprinkled on top, but I didn't have any.. so instead decided to try sprinkling the popcorn with some Cinnamon/sugar and it was a real HIT. Can't beat the sweet and salty combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Oh, yes. This is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wow! My kids had this gone in no time! It was easy and delicious! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States