Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is good stuff. There's no reason to subject yourself to all the chemicals in microwave popcorn. I heated two TBLS cococut oil, and then added a few kernels. When those popped, I added the rest of the popcorn as well as the salt and butter, let it sit until the popping started, then shook the pan (with lid on) until it was done. Dump it immediately into a bowl so it doesn't burn and add any additional seasonings to taste. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Perfect blend of butter and salt, I make every weekend and put on a netflix, set a big bowl of movie star popcorn on the coffee table with a stack of soup bowls... and never have to dump out leftover popcorn! the whole gang loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My mom taught me that you have to vent the popcorn a little. Just lift the lid every so often, or keep it cocked open just a tiny bit. I also empty the popcorn into a paper grocery bag and sprinkle a bit of salt and shake to distribute the salt evenly. pour out into a large bowl. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Surprisingly when you consider all the stellar reviews, I was not impressed. It tastes like popcorn made by any other method (though the microwave variety contains that processed, fake-butter taste) at home. Because of the temperature the oil reaches, the butter molecules begin to burn, and the kernels were dotted with dark brown. I made both with vegetable oil and with coconut oil as suggested by another reviewer, and noted very little difference, if any, in taste. It's not bad in any way, just OK, but definitely nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a classic and is great! I did sprinkle a little black pepper on it (something I've always loved) but this is just a personal preference and the recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
My Sons Loved this..Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this last night, while watching the Oscars with my family. DELICIOUS. Worked very well in my electric popper. I used 2 TBSP of sunflower oil instead of the peanut oil, and coarse sea salt. Needed just a pinch more salt once popped but nothing else. It will be our "go to" popcorn recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bitsybites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is great popcorn! I used olive oil due to a peanut allergy. Also used fine popcorn salt, no extra needed. So easy to add the butter before popping. No soggy popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is the best popcorn i have ever had. The grandkids agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is the way my mom always made popcorn..even when the microwave popcorn came out. Orville Redenbacher's popped the lid off of our pot! I usually use an air popper for movie night. Thanks for the recipe..I LOVE popcorn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States