Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
It's nice to know what's in your popcorn, you know? I have yet to use peanut oil--I use vegetable oil instead. The butter adds a great flavor. And talk about inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I grew up in the 60's loving popcorn on the stove and pizzas in the oven. All the new gadgets they come up with these days takes all the fun and flavor our of everything. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us, it was awesome tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisa soderstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Im so glad to see this recipe. Younger cooks may not even be aware that one could make popcorn any other way than putting a bag in a microwave. And it is SO much better this way - definitely more FUN - and without the nasty chemical tastes (and smells) that I notice when Im forced to eat nuked popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made this tonight for an "Oldest Recipe in your Recipe Box" challenge. I used exact ingredients called for, including cheap bagged popcorn, not a premium brand, that I've had for about 3 months, and tonight it came out better than when I used my old stovetop recipe when it was fresh. I let the oil come to almost smoking before adding the other ingredients and had no problems with burning butter as some others did. The finished corn had a slightly darker golden color than if the butter is added after popping, but the taste was perfect. I did follow one reviewer's advice and vented the steam 3 times while popping. I think this helped keep the corn tender. I used a 5-qt. stockpot as 1/2 cup seemed like a lot of corn for a 3 qt. pan. I think the larger bottom surface was a good thing, too. I only had 24 (I counted them) un-popped kernels. That measured out to 1 teaspoon, better than any other method I've ever tried. This recipe gave me much better results than the microwave popcorn recipe I tried. Hubs and I both really liked it, and this is going right into my "Easy Favorites" folder to be my standard popcorn recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing this easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
this is the only way to make popcorn the way the pilgrems did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloomofSparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is an excellent base recipe. You can substitute almost any oil in place of peanut oil. I've used olive oil, coconut oil, vegetable oil, toasted sesame oil, etc. I always have extra virgin olive oil on hand, so that's the oil I usually end up using. I use whipped butter, white kernels, and then sprinkle some grated parmesan cheese on the popcorn once it's finished popping. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is the popcorn of my childhood. So clean and simple and delicious. In case you're wondering, it's worth the extra work versus microwave popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was SO good! I used smart oil instead of peanut oil since my son has a peanut allergy and it was delicious! Reminds me of the popcorn we ate as kids since my dad always made popcorn this way. So much better than microwave popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Since going to the movie theater for the first time, my 3 yr old has been a popcorn nut. I remember my mom used to make popcorn this way when I was a kid so finally decided to do it the old fashioned way for my son. He LOVED it. Thanks for sharing and allowing me to share a childhood memory with my son of great popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Growing up this is the only way I ever had popcorn at home. I don't think I'll ever eat microwave popcorn again! I did make one small change, I used cannola oil instead of peanut because I didn't have the peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States