Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This came out really good. Definitely better with the peanut oil (I first tried it w/ vegetable oil). I also lift the lid off the pan about 3 or 4 times during popping, just to let some steam out, and that seems to make a difference for the better too. The first time I reviewed this I gave it only 4 stars, but now it definiteley rates 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Tasted very good, but also very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I've been making this all summer before I finally submitted a review. It is delicious. I use coconut oil and usually only about 2 Tbsp, and I'm using blue popcorn that I got at the farmers market. This may take a couple minutes longer than the microwave, but it's far superior in taste and worth the extra time! It's very easy, and it really is fabulous. Brought back great memories from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
absolutely delicious! my family loves popcorn, but i am very wary of the ingredients in microwave popcorn. this method takes about the same amount of time, and can be done using 100% organic ingredients. the butter can also be omitted or lessened to whatever taste you like. popcorn came out soft with a nice crunch, evenly salted, and not too oily. perfect for covering with loads of nutritional yeast (which actually sticks to this, unlike microwave popcorn). thanks for this great recipe! it makes popcorn a great, healthy choice for a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thesweetestlove
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Good stuff! I don't think we will go back to microwave popcorn ever again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I had to use vegetable oil the first time I made this as we didn't have peanut oil, but it still turned out great. I have made it several times now. Our whole family loves it. I am even able to use locally grown Iowa popcorn. I'll never microwave again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Yummmmmy! just got a request from my nephew to make it again tonight before we started a movie. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
absolutely SUPER yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I have a stove top popper I use with vegetable oil and instead of adding butter i add johnny's seasoning salt to it! It's delicious and healthy and it even tastes good cold as a next day lunch snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe. It really evenly coats the popcorn with the butter. I use 1 tbsp coconut oil and 3 tbsp butter. It's a wonderful and cheap snack my kids and I eat nearly every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States