Movie Star Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've made this but used Piave cheese shaved over it, and just a smidge of salt - Piave is stronger, and salty so that's just a matter of taste - a very decadent party snack. Also I prefer to used authentic popped corn, rather than microwave bagged popcorn. Another trick to make it special is to pop the corn in coconut oil. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Try using some leftover bacon grease instead of the vege oil to pop your corn .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious and easy! I wanted to try this now and didn't have canola oil or butter on hand. I used vegetable oil and margarine instead, it was fluffy, crunchy, buttery and delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It really isn't that hard to make popcorn the old fashioned way. Definitely worth it if you like the taste of movie theater or carnival style popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Super goooood! and easy to prepare, I also used a whirley whirl and olive oil instead because I did't have peanut oil. Thanks sumitter for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
BEST Popcorn ever! JUST made this using the tip to soak the kernels in water for about 10mins prior to use--you could see them suck it up. I spread them out on a paper towel to dry them before use. I also used coconut oil and the tip to test the oil heat by tossing in a few kernels. ONce those popped I added the butter and the rest of the kernels--and Voila! Perfect amount of oil for salt and fresh ground cinnamon to adhere to AND Very few old maids remained! Thx to the reviewers and AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
It was okay, I will definitely make again, needed more butter and salt in it. But a easy way to get started thanks for that.;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherealove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Basically good but with some variations: Start with three kernels. When they pop, pour in the rest. Leave the lid slightly ajar to let moisture out and make popcorn crisper. You don't need to shake the pan. Use Popcorn salt or pickling salt (extremely fine). Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
i always cook popcorn on the stovetop.. and i have a popcorn maker designed for use over open fires when we go camping! the best way to stop it from scorching is to have a little water in a nearby sink and just put it in the water long enough to cool it down a little.. but dont leave it long enough to cool off the popcorn.... it has to be hot! thinking of buying one of those whirly pots.. not sure if they work as well as they say though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Love this recipe! Changes made based on other reviews: I used coconut oil (adds a sweet clean taste, not oily), keep the pan moving (reduces burning), put in 3 kernels with oil (when they pop, you know the oil is hot enough and you can put in the rest), and add butter at the same time as the rest of the kernels. Sea salt to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States