Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I've made these many times and everyone loves them. They are not time consuming at all and can be made up two days before needed. Wash mushrooms and twist out stems. Drain in colander. Put mushroom caps on paper towels to drain well. Slice off woody part of stem and put in food processor. Pulse stems until minced. Add 1 Tlbs olive oil to pan and stir-fry minced stems and garlic (minced type from jar)until dry. Add spices. Slightly cool, but while still warm add cheeses (and a can of drained crab if want). Put a plastic zip lock bag into a bowl and roll back sides- add cream cheese mixture. Snip off one corner and use as a pastry bag to fill mushrooms. If making ahead 1)use only freshest mushrooms you can find, 2)blot off excess water from mushrooms, 3)put them into a non-metalic dish. I sprinkle the tops with shreded (not grated )parmesan cheese. Cover well with plastic wrap and refrig. until ready to bake. (I've made up to two days in advance- without crabmeat though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a favorite recipe that I have made several times and I never have any leftovers. Even my young son loves the flavorfull filling. These are great to bring to get togethers. I usually prepare the stuffing and put into a ziplock and assemble them when I arrive. Just snip off the corner of the ziplock, fill the mushrooms like a pastry and pop in the oven. Adjustments I make are I add crabmeat to the mixture which I find adds a little more substance to an otherwise very creamy filling. I like to sprinkle with parmesan cheese before putting them in the oven which adds a nice touch. A trick I use is to use smaller mushrooms so there is a good balance between mushroom and the amount of filling. I tried larger ones one time and it almost seemed like each bite was just a bit too full of creamy mixture. I also lightly butter the mushrooms before baking which keeps them from drying out. Last trick is I bake them in mini muffin tin pans. They hold the smaller mushrooms perfectly and the pans keep the mushrooms from tipping over and rolling around. The cayenne pepper gives just the perfect amount of kick to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Great! A little time consuming, but worth it. I, too, added some chopped green onion while sauteeing and lightly brushed outside of mushrooms with melted butter laced with Ital. crumbs. Made almost 3 doz. reg. mushrooms! TIP: slice off bottem a little so they don't roll over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
850 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Wow, these are ever so good exactly as written!!! For my family's personal preference, I added the following.... 16 oz of ground sausage, increased the Parmesan to 1/2 cup and the garlic to 1.5 tbsp, and then rolled the top of the stuffed mushrooms in the Parmesan cheese and Italian seasoned Panko bread crumbs prior to baking. Created a great little crunch with wonderful oozy goodness underneath. Absolutely divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This was my first time making stuffed mushrooms and after reading several of the reviews I decided on how I would make mine. The full amount of cream cheese was enough for 24 mushrooms and I placed a bit of chopped proscuitto in the bottom of each mushroom before placing the cheese mixture on top (which was wonderful). I then sprinkled garlic and herb bread crumbs over them and drizzled melted butter over all. Baked for only 15 minutes and broiled for the last 5. They were wonderful. I plan on making these when my Mom and Grandmom come to visit in the fall. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe. I doubled the filling and used 24 oz fresh mushrooms and it filled them almost perfectly. I also added a dash of Worcestershire sauce while cooking the stems and 1/3 cup of crumbled bacon to the cream cheese mixture. Just before baking, I sprinkled with breadcrumbs and dipped the mushroom caps in melted butter so that they wouldn't dry out. I brought to Thanksgiving as an appetizer and they went in minutes. Everyone loved the bite that the cayenne pepper added. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I have made these many times, and they always disappear so fast! What a great recipe. I put the stuffing into a ziploc bag with a corner cut off and squeeze it into the caps, it's less messy. Thanks for sharing such a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made for Christmas dinner appetizer and they were YUMMY! But i also read a lot of the reviews and took some of the advice (and left some). I rated accordingly since i changed it a bit. I used 12 large mushrooms (caps about 2" wide) as the recipe called for as well as the the whole pkg of cream cheese and it was just right. Next time, though, I will use bite size smaller mushrooms but double the amount of mushrooms to make it easier to eat as a appetizer. Used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added to the original ingredients for the filling: 2 stalks green onions (minced and cooked with the garlic and mushroom stems), a bit more parmesan (used fresh grated parmesano reggiano), a bit of garlic powder, 1 crisp, crumbled bacon and about a cup of cooked dungeoness crab. I dunked the mushroom caps in melted butter & lemon before filling, sprinkled with more parmesan and baked in a mini muffin pan. (Beware: if the mushrooms don't fit all the way into the muffin pan, they will come out shaped like muffins! It is kind of cute though.) Cooked for 20 mins and they came out beautifully! Everyone loved them! The parmesan topping gave it that extra crunch too! And love the heat the Cayenne leaves after you eat it. Will make (my new revised recipe again!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Very good recipe! My husband gave it 2 thumbs up, which is HUGE. I followed some other reviewers' suggestions and added 1/4 cup or seasoned breadcrumbs, and cut the cream cheese to about 2/3 what the recipe called for. I also used 2 10oz pkgs of white mushrooms, or about double what the recipe specified. I'm sure adding crabmeat would've made it even better, but i don't think it needs it... i kept the recipe cheap, quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Very good. If not using really large mushrooms, be sure to double up the mushrooms to 24, using just 12 stems, as the recipe calls for. I had lots of filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States