Moutabel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I grew up in the Middle East and had never tried this...So much wasted time! This is delicious, healthy, and relatively easy. I peeled the outer part of the eggplants, then wrung them out a bit, and tore them apart before adding them to the food processor; that just seemed easier to me. This is going to be a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Good, very spicy. I quartered the recipe -- it would make alot as written. If you're in the mood to try something new, this is a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I wanted to try something new and this was it. It was easy to make and very good. Also, very versatile. My family and I used it as a dip, but I also used it on sandwiches like I would with hummus. So, if you are looking for something to do with this, it is good as a spread with melted feta or Indian paneer, and sundried tomatoes. I plan on making this again, often, and trying it on other things as well. I quartered the recipe and used half of a serrano chile--the dip ended up being very spicy, so a caution: use less chile than the recipe suggests if you do not want a lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Loved this recipe Kevin! I'm an eggplant fan, so I'm always looking for new ways to serve it. Perfect as is and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I used a very mild pepper when making this the first time and it was bland. When we add Tabasco Sause it added a kick to it. Now I use hot peppers. This is a great low-fat side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Mine turned out bitter. I added a touch of cumin and sugar to try to fix it, but to no avail. I don't know what I can do with it now. At least it didn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made half of this recipe, and I really wouldn't have wanted any more than that. My batch was dominated by tahini as I added a little more to make it thicker. Don't take out the seeds of the pepper, otherwise you won't be able to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I quartered it, using only one eggplant, and since I did (but my family did NOT) want it to be spicy I eased up on the hot peppers and instead added black pepper, turmeric, and cumin. I also added sweet red peppers to make up for blandness. The dip turned out well but until I can make & serve it properly (i.e. with full eye-watering heat) I do not think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I live in southern New Meixco and right now, the harvest of eggplants, green chile, garlic, basil and onions are pouring in faster than we can keep up. This recipe was a GREAT way to take advantage of the local ingredients. Thank you so much for sharing! I did make several minor changes: I punctured the eggplants with a toothpick all over, then blackened them on the grill (it was 4th of July!) all over. Plunging them into a bowl of ice water made the black skins slip off easily. I also did this with 2 green chiles and added them in addition to the 2 fresh green chiles the recipe calls for. I doubled the garlic and increased the basil by about 50%. Lastly, I used lime juice instead of lemon, as that is what is local around here. The end result was a smoky, garlicky spread, remeniscent of baba ganoush (but better!) that we spread on tortillas and filled with other roasted local veggies from the harvest. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Followed several reviews and this was a HIT! Not too much tahini, it still tastes like an eggplant dip. Charred eggplants and peeled. Increased basil (1/4 packed cup for 2 eggplants) and garlic (3 cloves for 2 eggplants. Didn't seed the peppers. Sprinkled a little cayenne on top at end for color and zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States