Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I’ve had moussaka before in restaurants and this isn’t quite what I remember. Maybe it comes down to the brand of red wine, mix of seasonings, or maybe it’s because traditional Greek moussaka is made with lamb and not beef. Really wanted to like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Lesson learned-always read reviews from the lowest ratings up. I would have known that this would turn out to be a soupy mess. I actually told my husband I thought it was too much sauce when I was preparing it , why didn't I trust my instincts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very good recipe. It reminded of a Greek place I used to go to when I was in Australia. Really authentic flavors (besides the ground beef but still excellent). I did follow others advise with adding two egg yolks to the meat as it cooled and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. I also layered the bottom with 3 potatoes (sliced) and also baked the eggplants and potatoes in oven. I added beaten egg whites to the white sauce and it fluffed up beautifully. I might add another pound of ground lamb next time. This is definitely a time consuming prep meal, so make sure you take enough time out . Worth trying for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
this recipe is friggin amazing and it is officially my new FAVORITE way to prepare ground turkey (I don't eat red meat). Delighted to have found it and my 3 year old seems pretty stoked about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
After reading many reviews I made too many changes to rate as written. I will post the recipe I made and was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
absolutely delicious! it is key to salt and bake the eggplant slices before layering. otherwise, it will turn out extremely runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
SO worth the time and dirtying up some dishes (that's what a dish washer is for, people!). Athens is our favorite city and this recipe brings us back to our fond memories of Greece. Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Loved all the flavors but had some trouble with the recipe steps. I followed the suggestions by WSBLEND for the white sauce. Mine still did not rise as much as I would have like but the flavors were great. It was very soupy but we just dished it out and ate it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
A ton of work and dishes, but the result is very very tasty. Thank you, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States