Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This tasted absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I love moussaka, and I decided to challenge myself with this recipe. The flavors were absolutely heavenly, but the texture of mine was a little off -- hence only 4 stars. I made it exactly as prepared. It did NOT take only 45 minutes to prepare. Also, it took at least 75 minutes to cook properly. The beschamel wasn't nearly as solid as I would have liked. The extra eggs that reviewers mentioned would have probably helped. Also, I agree that baking the eggplants would have yielded a better, faster, healthier result. It was still a total hit at my dinner party, but I wish it was less mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made this the other day.....so good! I used Italian seasoning instead of the fines herbs and left out the nutmeg. I did not add any extra egg whites to the sauce....mine did not run. Instead of the fresh eggplant, I used a bag of Trader Joe's frozen grilled eggplant and zucchini (rinsed off the marinade and patted it with paper towels). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Very good and easy enough. I made one of these that you were to bake the eggplant pieces that had been dipped in egg and Italian bread crumbs prior to assembling. More work but it had a bit more character to it. I used a lot more cheese (Italian blend) just because I had so much on hand and wanted to use it but really liked it that way. Totally forgot the egg, didn't seem to miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I cut the recipe in half but kept the meat mixture amounts the same, assembling it in a 9 x 9 baking dish. Upon the suggestions of others here to make it more authentic, I added 1 (15 oz.) can of diced tomatoes (drained) to the meat mixture, and added one tempered egg yolk to the bechamel sauce to make it fluffier. Excellent flavors. I will make this again. Thank you, Peggy, for sharing this very tasy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Very good! I made the meat sauce as written. Cooked the eggplant slices in the oven at 400 for about 40 minutes, until they where soft. I skipped the bechemel sauce part, just because I was lazy. So I simply mixed the eggplant in with the meat and it was good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Terrific! We were very suprised that we were able to execute this involved recipe perfectly. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I’ve had moussaka before in restaurants and this isn’t quite what I remember. Maybe it comes down to the brand of red wine, mix of seasonings, or maybe it’s because traditional Greek moussaka is made with lamb and not beef. Really wanted to like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Lesson learned-always read reviews from the lowest ratings up. I would have known that this would turn out to be a soupy mess. I actually told my husband I thought it was too much sauce when I was preparing it , why didn't I trust my instincts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very good recipe. It reminded of a Greek place I used to go to when I was in Australia. Really authentic flavors (besides the ground beef but still excellent). I did follow others advise with adding two egg yolks to the meat as it cooled and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. I also layered the bottom with 3 potatoes (sliced) and also baked the eggplants and potatoes in oven. I added beaten egg whites to the white sauce and it fluffed up beautifully. I might add another pound of ground lamb next time. This is definitely a time consuming prep meal, so make sure you take enough time out . Worth trying for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
this recipe is friggin amazing and it is officially my new FAVORITE way to prepare ground turkey (I don't eat red meat). Delighted to have found it and my 3 year old seems pretty stoked about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States