Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I made a mistake in my earlier review, couldn't figure out how to edit it. I used 2 1/2 cups milk with 3 1/2 tbsp flour for the white sauce, not the reverse. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Not much to say, but AWESOME!!! One of my all time Allrecipes favs! I even make extra to freeze for another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Turned out perfect!! Thank you for posting. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Awesome takes extra time and some changes. I pretty much followed this recipe with some changes via post by WSBlend. I used 2 pounds of meat and added a thin layer of potatoes on the bottom. Used 3 cloves of garlic, 1 small onion doubled the tomatoe sauce and wine. Instead of frying the eggplant I lined eggplant slices on cookie sheets lightly oiled and baked 20 mins in oven at 450 covered top with foil. Same with the 2 sliced russet potatoes but for 10 mins. I used the 2 eggs in meat yolks first and whites beaten and folded in. This recipe takes much longer to prepare but very much worth the effort. this was my first time making this I served it to company who had never had it before with rave reviews and they left with the recipe. Next time I will make it with half lamb and half beef and I may try it with fresh spinach in the meat mixture. But it is excellent as is. I highly recommend adding the potatoes! Yummy! Oh I also added 1 cup of sauce on top of the first layer of meat and the remaining sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Great Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is delicious. I read some of the other reviews and made the following changes: -- Eggplant -- used just one medium large, rather than 3, because I wanted it to fit in one 13x9 pan, which it did, perfectly. Used the original amount of meat, tomato sauce, wine, etc. -- Potato -- added a layer of potato on the bottom for authenticity. Sliced 3 medium potatoes about 1/4" thick, steamed til almost tender and just put them on the bottom. -- Ground beef - browned this by itself first, drained off fat. -- Onion -- used just one, sauteed in a little olive oil. -- Garlic -- used 3 cloves -- Egg -- meant to put it in the meat sauce but forgot, so just added it to the Bechamel as others suggested -- worked great -- nice slightly custard-y effect -- Bechamel -- used only about 4 c milk because a) we were almost out of milk! and b) only using one eggplant. Adjusted butter and flour down to accommodate less milk -- Cinnamon and nutmeg - skipped them out of personal preference -- Oregano -- added about a teaspoon or so of dried for extra "Greek" flavor This is definitely a keeper. Not hard, just takes a bit of time -- with 2 people cooking last night it was easy and fun and well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Substitute parmesan for kefalotiri if you're able to find it. Will really dramatically improve the recipe. Instead of the bechamel sauce, I used the kefalotiri to make a cheese sauce. I would only recommend doing this if you really like cheesy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is so delicious and not difficult to make, just time consuming. Had moussaka for the first time in Athens, Greece this summer and this recipe is similar to that dish. I made this recipe for a Greek Night at a friend's house and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
One of my favorite recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Dairy free version: I used full fat cashew cream and coconut milk instead of milk. I did add potato slices on the bottom and three eggs to the bechamel sauce. It reheated in the microwave very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States