Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is the best Moussaka recipe. My family and I love it. Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
A good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
One medium onion would be fine and I would highly recommend draining your meat and cooking off the wine and tomato sauce until it is a very thick mixture. As for the béchamel sauce, there should have been 1/2 cup of flour rather than 6 Tbl and either cut back on the milk or add the last only if you need it. The sauce was way too thin and I cooked it at boiling for about 15 minutes which should be more than enough time. The pan needs to be at least twice the size. The taste was good but that's about the only positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I did have to substitute ground lamb for the ground beef due to a food intolerance, but this came out fantastically. Will make this again without hesitation (and I HIGHLY recommend this with lamb!). Sadly though, I can confirm, due to experimentation by a dining companion that this is also fantastic with tortilla chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Great recipe great flavors. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DODIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Labor-intensive, but worth the work! This is perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Ever since I tried the moussaka that they make at restaurants I have been wanting to make my own moussaka. I made some for my family and I and everybody loved it. I especially liked how I learned more about cooking and some special terms. Overall, making moussaka was a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Spiced well and tasted delicious. The only change I made was roasting the eggplant in the oven after brushing it with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Thank you for this recipe for a dish that was really popular in the 1960s and needs to be revived. I had continued to make it, but modernized it by microwaving the egg plant (5 minutes). I use fresh tomatoes when possible - two are enough. I have always topped the dish with a cup of Greek yoghurt rather than bechamel. I add a couple of eggs to the yoghurt, and it is probably good to whip the eggwhites though I never used to. I do not use any cheese - it is not necessary. I always use ground lamb for a more authentic flavor. You can also use left-over lamb roast if you chop it fairly small - it's a delicious option for leftovers! This dish can be very healthy and low fat (just omit the egg yolks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! My whole family loved it. I changed only 2 things: I used vegetarian ground round instead of beef and I didn't use any butter to brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States