Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Thank you for this recipe for a dish that was really popular in the 1960s and needs to be revived. I had continued to make it, but modernized it by microwaving the egg plant (5 minutes). I use fresh tomatoes when possible - two are enough. I have always topped the dish with a cup of Greek yoghurt rather than bechamel. I add a couple of eggs to the yoghurt, and it is probably good to whip the eggwhites though I never used to. I do not use any cheese - it is not necessary. I always use ground lamb for a more authentic flavor. You can also use left-over lamb roast if you chop it fairly small - it's a delicious option for leftovers! This dish can be very healthy and low fat (just omit the egg yolks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! My whole family loved it. I changed only 2 things: I used vegetarian ground round instead of beef and I didn't use any butter to brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
lovely recipe. I think the authentic recipe calls for ground lamb and that is what I used....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was my first time cooking Greek food. I followed some other suggestions and added some whipped egg whites to the sauce. Please note that this took much longer than 45 minutes to prepare. I was fortunate to have help and it still took almost an hour and a half. The dish turned out fantastic but I doubt I will make again just because of the complexity. Obviously that is not a fault of the recipe just the nature of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It took me a lot longer to make than 1&1/2 hours. The recipe does not allow for the sauce to cool before you add egg to it. I made the version with eggs added to the two sauces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this; I started the day before because I know how long it takes to make (time consuming recipes stress me out); I have not been in Greece but I'm from the Balkan region and have not seen this recipe made with the béchamel sauce. I also have used ground pork because I get sick smelling the ground beef cooking. Much less fat if you get your hands on some lean pork. Anyway, I also use potato (2) and ended up using 2 eggplants not three. The potatoes give the dish a "comfort food" taste and feel. Make sure you salt this dish properly because the meat and eggplants absorb a lot of it. Still I didn't use cinn/nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe didn't taste like what I had tried in Greece, the eggplant made the dish taste soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It was rediculously yummy. My dad makes this same recipe so I knew it was good. The only things I changed were instead of nutmeg I just added extra cinnamon, but that's my preference. The other thing is that I added some crumbled feta underneath the bechamel sauce and it added that extra greek touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
very good. It did take me more than 45 min. prep time though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This rating is for the recipe as written. Though with a few modifications it was excellent. I did sub turkey for beef and roasted eggplant (and potatoes) in the oven rather than fry. I found it necessary to turn up the heat and add a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I added the stiff peak egg whites like others have done. I also only did one layer because two didn't sound/look appealing and there wasn't room anyway. This recipe proved a nice foundation for the dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States