Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It was really good. I added ground nutmeg straight into the white sauce as I was making it. Served 7 people. Would totally make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Ok, prep time was WAY longer than 45 minutes. We normally eat a late dinner, but I started this at 7:30 and didn't pull it out of the oven until 11. Needless to say, we ordered pizza and had this for dinner the following night. I popped it back in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes, until the sauce was bubbly. It was really good! DH liked it better than I did, but I think that's because I was bitter about the cooking time ;-) I did add a layer of potatoes to the bottom, but otherwise I didn't change anything. Because of the prep time, I probably won't be making this again for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This tastes almost too good to believe. Even before the bechamel is done, a slice of eggplant wrapped around some of the meat mix is enough to make you want to stop there, and just serve it up. Here's another way to cook the eggplant. After sweating it, I used a basting brush to brush on a little olive oil before putting it in a medium hot pan. It browned well, cooked quickly and wasn't saturated in oil. I used 1 1/2 cups of fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned tomato sauce. Instead of dried herbs, I used about a half a bunch of fresh parsley, fresh oregano and fresh thyme. (Thank heavens for those organic "meat mix" and "poultry mix" packages at the grocery store.) And a little more cinnamon than suggested. The sauce was so good, I'm thinking about making it meatless and freezing it to use as a base in future dishes. We eat gluten/dairy free. A bechamel made from almond milk and corn starch for the thickener works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Yum! We've made this several times. I agree, add a layer of potatoes with the first layer of eggplant. We have a small family, so we divide this into 3 9X9 casseroles and freeze 2 and cook one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. I made this yesterday for dinner and it was practically inhaled. I did add a layer of mandolin-sliced, potatoes to each layer of eggplant and it worked amazingly well (par-boiled sliced for 5 mins first). I think what impressed me the most was how effortless the bechamel sauce was to make - that'll give you a real sense of achievement if, like me, you hadn't made that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
We loved it! In fact, I liked it better than what I have eaten in some restaurants. Did make a couple of recommended changes - did not fry eggplant, put a thin layer of potatoes on bottom and used less butter. We are actually looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
quite yummy! I gave it 4 stars b/c I modified it. I used baby eggplants and zucchini, roasted instead of fried and I added a layer of potatoes to the bottom. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Dunckel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Fantastic, I had no idea what Mousakka was or was supposed to taste like, but my husband and I loved it. I have now started using the meat sauce in my lasaugna.--- I followed others peoples advice to half the cinnomon and nutmeg, and use an 1/8 tsp each of oregano, basil, and thyme for the fine herbs. ---No need for the butter with the beef. I used cooking spray instead of 1/2 cup oil on the egg plant to cut calories.--- I used 3 eggs separated in the white sauce. Added egg yolks to the pot once thickened, and beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed and folded into the sauce. It really does make it fluffy. Next time I will probably half the white sauce, as we found it a bit to much, and another way to cut the calories in the dish. (Do use 1 egg in the meat sauce).--- Oh ya, this dish seemed to take forever to make, I was in the kitchen an hour and a half before I got it in the oven, so if you plan ahead, I would make the meat sauce ahead of time, like the day before. Maybe I'm just a slow cook too ;P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is my first time making moussaka. I broiled the eggplant, then chopped them up. Used less butter and a bit more beef. It was a little too runny for my liking, and the bechamel sauce needed more thickening. I do like it, tho. I served it with a greek pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is really good, it is like a greek version of shepards pie. I like adding some sliced potatoes...more cinnamon,nutmeg, and some allspice. Oh...no need to fry the meat...lamb is better choice too. I used italian spice for the fine herbs, and used a can of diced tomatoes and even a can of whole tomatoes...italian blends. The white sauce is pretty good...didn't have white pepper or white wine though it still tasted good. I want to try adding some artichoke hearts along with the eggplant potatoes layers. I also sprinkle parmesean cheese over the meat too..this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States