Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really disappointed with the results. Followed recipe exactly and it ended up being a goopy, oily mess with way too much sauce sitting on top. If I even bother to try it again, I would make half of the sauce or less, but I doubt I'll give this a second chance. Waste of alot of time and money, basically inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent, easy recipe. Tasted wonderful. I didn't add the egg to the meat mixture, because I like the crumbly meat texture...think Greek style sloppy Joe! Enjoy! Oh, and adding some fresh herbs on top, what was put into the meat sauce, gives it a nice finishing. Some cinnamon gives it an aroma to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
added the extra eggs to the béchamel only I thought it was actually too much. I let the sauce reduce quite a bit and then stirring in the egg really thickened it too much. I also used zucchini instead of eggplant since the other "hates" eggplant, and lamb instead of beef. In the future, I would use a smaller pan and make it thicker. I think my lasagna pan was too spread out. Also put sweet potatoes on the bottom (precook at 450 for 20 mins in oo) but in the future I would leave them out. It was just too much flavor mixing. Will try with just plain potatoes before completely throwing this idea out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
First - I don't understand the posts about adding the egg to the sauce. It's supposed to go into the meat - when/where/how do you add egg to the sauce, and what is it supposed to do if you add that? Puff up or something? Okay...strike one - this dish could have been an utter disaster. I sliced eggplant thin - and was baking it as some recommended. Unfortunately, my thin, delicate slices stuck to the pan (yes, I had oiled them), and then ended up crisping too much (I forgot them...duh). So I sliced up potatoes instead. I knew some versions (and some mentioned here) that you also use potatoes. Strike 2 - I didn't realize until too late, I had no parmesan cheese. Used mozzarella instead. Strike 3 - what is "fines seasoning?" I used Italian. With all that being said.........my kids LOVED it. My daughter wants to take some for lunch tomorrow. I will try again with proper ingredients next time, and probably add more tomato sauce and wine to the meat (I may have had more than one pound, and it was kind of dry by the time it simmered down). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Easier and healthier way to cook the egplant: After slicing and salting, brush one side with olive oil, place in Med-HOT pan for 3 min or until lightly browned. Brush other side of eggplant before flipping to brown the other side. As others did, I added a layer of thinly sliced potatoes on the bottom of the baking dish before the eggplant and i'm glad i did. It really gave the dish a nice foundation and additional texture. Perfect amount of sauce which created just the right thickness topping. Used ground buffalo for added flavor. This was delicious! Took much longer to make than 2 hrs... start this in the afternoon for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
5 Star recipe .. only addition a 1/2 cup of crumbled feta and a pinch extra flour to the bechemel for a thin mash potato like consistency as my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I enjoyed this Moussaka very much! Trick from the Greek cook (Maria) of my friend in Corfu, fry the eggplant in olive oil and let stand in a colander overnight. Quite a lot of oil will drip out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was mediocre at best. We live near a restaurant that has a fantastic version & this didn't compare. I followed the recipe almost exactly- except we omitted the wine (didn't have any), and added egg whites to the bachmel sauce like others suggested. It was also incredibly labor intensive and the time the recipe suggested was off quite a bit. The 2nd star is there because my entire daycare group ate this & enjoyed it... but it's way too much work for 6 toddlers. Update: I've made this a second time & it was still a very labor intensive recipe. I took it to a pre-school dinner & most that tried it enjoyed it. I still prefer the restaurant version near us, however IF I had 2 days to make this, I would use this recipe again.... I'm adding more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very flavorful. The preparation time is way off the mark. Make the day before or start at lunchtime if you want this for dinner. I took some suggestions from the reviews, including adding sliced roasted potatoes to the bottom of the dish (I've always had it that way) and adding the eggs to the bechamel. Next time, I won't add the eggs. The crust was puffy and eggy, but the sauce didn't settle into the top eggplant layer, leaving it rather dry. That was not in the original recipe and I can't fault it, so 5 stars it is! Excellent. I am bringing this to feed a crowd for Greek night. Opa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It was really good. I added ground nutmeg straight into the white sauce as I was making it. Served 7 people. Would totally make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States