Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I had tried Moussaka in Cypress, but was afraid to try making it - that it wouldn't taste the same. BUT, this recipe is fantastic. It takes a bit of time, but it is worth it!! I didn't have any "fine herbs" so I just used oregano, basil, and thyme - it tasted great! My boyfriend made the bechemel sauce :) We loved it and so did our friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This recipe is a keeper! I used the left over Easter lamb for it, rather than ground beef. And it was scrumptious! Time consuming, labor intensive to make, though. And my four year old daughter gave the dish mixed reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
Excellant my husband and I really enjoyed this. Feed the leftovers to a friend the next day she loved it and wanted the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Thanks Peggy! This sounded so good but I had no eggplant and just macaroni...So I made the red sauce using ground lamb,1 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp more cinnamon, only one onion, mixed it with cooked macaroni and 1 to 1 1/2 cup grated parmesean in a dish..covered and baked at 325 for 35 minutes..My family loved it...Thanks! Easy and Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Thank you, Peggy! I always order Moussaka in Greek restaurants but had dismissed the option of cooking it at home. This dish turned out wonderful - and although takes a bit of prep time - was SO worth it. Followed the recipe exactly except: 1) Cooked Eggplant without any oil (was afraid that they would taste funny as they looked burnt after being cooked, but were fine), and 2) substituted equal parts of oregeno, basil, & thyme for fine herb mixture. Also only had 2 eggplants around but it was enough (although 3 is probably a more appropriate amount). If you like Moussaka, you MUST try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
Very similar to what we had in Greece. A little time consuming, as you have to cook eggplant separately, but sure worth it. Great for big group dinner and party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Delicious! Prepared this recipe for my wife and two daughters and drew rave reviews. I followed the recipe almost exactly - I did not have any "fines herbs" and also added a bit (1/2 C) of Feta cheese. Took a couple of hours to complete the dish. Next time, I'll double the recipe and try freezing some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
An excellent, recipe - I found it pretty easy. Try grilling the eggplant to reduce grease, about 5 minutes each side. Also try with ground lamb for a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Thank You, Peggy. Am not much of a cook, (in my mother's opinion, but then again who is) but I made your recipe and it was a hit. I had some trouble with the eggplant but i figure it out. I didn't used fines herb instead I used basil, parsely and thyme and the flavor was phenomenal! Also, I used a vegetable spread instead of butter and the consistency remain the same. If you're like me wanting to impress a mother chef go for it this the dish to do that with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is excellent - I have never cooked moussaka before, and wasn't sure about how it might come out, but it was a hit. I dry-sauteed the eggplant in a non-stick wok, and it was fine; although next time I will cook the eggplant longer, since some of the thicker pieces were slightly undercooked. I also used the suggested herbs as a substitute for fines herbs with no problems. I made the mistake of ignoring the other warnings about the amount of time and work this requires, and it made for a late - (but much appreciated!) dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States