Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
Excellant my husband and I really enjoyed this. Feed the leftovers to a friend the next day she loved it and wanted the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
Very similar to what we had in Greece. A little time consuming, as you have to cook eggplant separately, but sure worth it. Great for big group dinner and party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
There is far too much grease in this recipe. I was able to cut the grease considerably by not sauteeing the eggplant in oil, but simply dry sauteeing. Without the grease, it is very tasty. I made the recipe twice. The first time as written, the second time modified. My family loves moussaka and I was happy to find a recipe to work from. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Delicious! Prepared this recipe for my wife and two daughters and drew rave reviews. I followed the recipe almost exactly - I did not have any "fines herbs" and also added a bit (1/2 C) of Feta cheese. Took a couple of hours to complete the dish. Next time, I'll double the recipe and try freezing some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I had tried Moussaka in Cypress, but was afraid to try making it - that it wouldn't taste the same. BUT, this recipe is fantastic. It takes a bit of time, but it is worth it!! I didn't have any "fine herbs" so I just used oregano, basil, and thyme - it tasted great! My boyfriend made the bechemel sauce :) We loved it and so did our friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
An excellent, recipe - I found it pretty easy. Try grilling the eggplant to reduce grease, about 5 minutes each side. Also try with ground lamb for a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Thank You, Peggy. Am not much of a cook, (in my mother's opinion, but then again who is) but I made your recipe and it was a hit. I had some trouble with the eggplant but i figure it out. I didn't used fines herb instead I used basil, parsely and thyme and the flavor was phenomenal! Also, I used a vegetable spread instead of butter and the consistency remain the same. If you're like me wanting to impress a mother chef go for it this the dish to do that with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This recipe is a keeper! I used the left over Easter lamb for it, rather than ground beef. And it was scrumptious! Time consuming, labor intensive to make, though. And my four year old daughter gave the dish mixed reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
a bit oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is excellent - I have never cooked moussaka before, and wasn't sure about how it might come out, but it was a hit. I dry-sauteed the eggplant in a non-stick wok, and it was fine; although next time I will cook the eggplant longer, since some of the thicker pieces were slightly undercooked. I also used the suggested herbs as a substitute for fines herbs with no problems. I made the mistake of ignoring the other warnings about the amount of time and work this requires, and it made for a late - (but much appreciated!) dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States