Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Good recipe. nice find. Would work as written but these were my mods: I only had two eggplants & I messed-up part of one with my roasting method so in the end I had enough for an 8x8 pan but it turned out great. I tried to roast the eggplant & it mostly worked but I burnt one of them to the pan (not recipes fault & roasting works fine so I'll do that again next time.) For my reduced volume I used 3/4 lb ground beef and I used McCormick's "Greek seasoning" as my fine herbs. Neither my husband nor I like a heavy cinnamon/nutmeg taste so I used just a dash of each in the meat & none at the end. It looked like a high ratio of onions as I was cutting them so I only added about 1 medium white onion. (At the end I realize that 2 onions as originally recommended would've been appropriate, so again, follow the recipe.) No other mods, except I only used about 1/2-3/4 of the bechamel. (remember I had a smaller pan.) I think my meat & bechamel might've been a little thicker than it would've been otherwise but I wouldn't have changed anything. The recipe refrigerated well & actually "set" overnight so that the form (even after reheating) & flavors were better the next day. The wine is essential don't leave it out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Last night was my first attempt at making Greek food. I picked this recipe because it looked good, sounded good and easy and I had all the ingredients on hand, but one the fines herbs. I just added a little tarragon and sage (a suggestion I found online). My husband absolutely loved it. He said it was the best thing I had ever made. I love to try new recipes. We had it with Riunite Lambrusco Emilia. It was the perfect wine with this dish. I give it 5 stars plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klbarr55
Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Seroe Colorado, San Nicolas, Aruba
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really disappointed with the results. Followed recipe exactly and it ended up being a goopy, oily mess with way too much sauce sitting on top. If I even bother to try it again, I would make half of the sauce or less, but I doubt I'll give this a second chance. Waste of alot of time and money, basically inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent, easy recipe. Tasted wonderful. I didn't add the egg to the meat mixture, because I like the crumbly meat texture...think Greek style sloppy Joe! Enjoy! Oh, and adding some fresh herbs on top, what was put into the meat sauce, gives it a nice finishing. Some cinnamon gives it an aroma to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
added the extra eggs to the béchamel only I thought it was actually too much. I let the sauce reduce quite a bit and then stirring in the egg really thickened it too much. I also used zucchini instead of eggplant since the other "hates" eggplant, and lamb instead of beef. In the future, I would use a smaller pan and make it thicker. I think my lasagna pan was too spread out. Also put sweet potatoes on the bottom (precook at 450 for 20 mins in oo) but in the future I would leave them out. It was just too much flavor mixing. Will try with just plain potatoes before completely throwing this idea out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
First - I don't understand the posts about adding the egg to the sauce. It's supposed to go into the meat - when/where/how do you add egg to the sauce, and what is it supposed to do if you add that? Puff up or something? Okay...strike one - this dish could have been an utter disaster. I sliced eggplant thin - and was baking it as some recommended. Unfortunately, my thin, delicate slices stuck to the pan (yes, I had oiled them), and then ended up crisping too much (I forgot them...duh). So I sliced up potatoes instead. I knew some versions (and some mentioned here) that you also use potatoes. Strike 2 - I didn't realize until too late, I had no parmesan cheese. Used mozzarella instead. Strike 3 - what is "fines seasoning?" I used Italian. With all that being said.........my kids LOVED it. My daughter wants to take some for lunch tomorrow. I will try again with proper ingredients next time, and probably add more tomato sauce and wine to the meat (I may have had more than one pound, and it was kind of dry by the time it simmered down). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Easier and healthier way to cook the egplant: After slicing and salting, brush one side with olive oil, place in Med-HOT pan for 3 min or until lightly browned. Brush other side of eggplant before flipping to brown the other side. As others did, I added a layer of thinly sliced potatoes on the bottom of the baking dish before the eggplant and i'm glad i did. It really gave the dish a nice foundation and additional texture. Perfect amount of sauce which created just the right thickness topping. Used ground buffalo for added flavor. This was delicious! Took much longer to make than 2 hrs... start this in the afternoon for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
5 Star recipe .. only addition a 1/2 cup of crumbled feta and a pinch extra flour to the bechemel for a thin mash potato like consistency as my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I enjoyed this Moussaka very much! Trick from the Greek cook (Maria) of my friend in Corfu, fry the eggplant in olive oil and let stand in a colander overnight. Quite a lot of oil will drip out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States