Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
After reading many reviews I made too many changes to rate as written. I will post the recipe I made and was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
absolutely delicious! it is key to salt and bake the eggplant slices before layering. otherwise, it will turn out extremely runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
SO worth the time and dirtying up some dishes (that's what a dish washer is for, people!). Athens is our favorite city and this recipe brings us back to our fond memories of Greece. Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Loved all the flavors but had some trouble with the recipe steps. I followed the suggestions by WSBLEND for the white sauce. Mine still did not rise as much as I would have like but the flavors were great. It was very soupy but we just dished it out and ate it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
A ton of work and dishes, but the result is very very tasty. Thank you, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I used 2 eggplants. It was still way too much eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lunabianca
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I served this dish to my Greek husband, his brother and my parents. Everyone really loved it and my brother-in-law even enjoyed cold leftovers the following morning! I followed all the modifications suggested by other reviewers ie. grill the aubergines, add an extra egg, make sauce day before etc. My husband rated this 6/10 for authenticity as he could tell the aubergines and potatoes hadn't been fried. I am scoring it 4/5 as I found the bottom of the pan was a bit soggy and the slices didn't hold together firmly. I will definitely make this dish again but I will try frying the aubergines to see if it tastes more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
In case any wants to know how to Scald Milk... it's not necessary anymore as long as your milk is pasteurized... but is the authentic way and does add to the flavor. Here you go: Heat the milk to 180 degrees. At this temperature, the milk should just begin to come to a light froth: you will see around the edges of the pan, where tiny bubbles will form. This point can be determined visually or with a thermometer and can be done in a double boiler or, if you pay close attention, over direct heat. You can also scald milk in a glass bowl in your newfangled microwave oven, checking it every 15-20 seconds. To prevent scorching, be sure to stir the milk as it heats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
excellent dish would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States