Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
In case any wants to know how to Scald Milk... it's not necessary anymore as long as your milk is pasteurized... but is the authentic way and does add to the flavor. Here you go: Heat the milk to 180 degrees. At this temperature, the milk should just begin to come to a light froth: you will see around the edges of the pan, where tiny bubbles will form. This point can be determined visually or with a thermometer and can be done in a double boiler or, if you pay close attention, over direct heat. You can also scald milk in a glass bowl in your newfangled microwave oven, checking it every 15-20 seconds. To prevent scorching, be sure to stir the milk as it heats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
excellent dish would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this recipe for guests the other night- it was a hit! I followed the recipe to the T, but followed the advice of some by adding an egg to the bechamel sauce, on top of the one in the meat mixture. It held nicely. I think the only thing I will do different for next time is use canned / diced tomatos that I will drain. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guanajuato, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Soo good and authentic! I really miss Greek Town in Chicago and this is just as good as good as my favorite restaurant's moussaka. I did incorporate 2 eggs to the bechamel sauce as other reviewers suggested and it worked out nicely. I also added a thin layer of sliced potatoes to the pan 1st
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Recipe is easy to follow and makes a great moussaka. I added a little extra cinnamon and made a little extra bechamel for the top. First time making moussaka and must say it is a great dish for a larger group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
made it exactly as the recipe states except halved it because there were only 4 of us. Used more parsley for the "fine herbs" LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I use this spice combination with ground beef for so many other dishes it's that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great recipe! Only changes were that I broiled the eggplant instead of fried, and added an egg to the béchamel sauce after it thickened. After reading reviews of runny sauce, it could be that you didn't cook the sauce enough before putting it on top, it takes about 5-10 min of stirring after all the milk has been put in to see it really set. It does take longer than 45 min, lots of time went to prepping the eggplant, so set aside some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Best Moussaka ever! I took it on a camping trip and got lots of yummy comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States