Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Recipe is easy to follow and makes a great moussaka. I added a little extra cinnamon and made a little extra bechamel for the top. First time making moussaka and must say it is a great dish for a larger group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
made it exactly as the recipe states except halved it because there were only 4 of us. Used more parsley for the "fine herbs" LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I use this spice combination with ground beef for so many other dishes it's that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great recipe! Only changes were that I broiled the eggplant instead of fried, and added an egg to the béchamel sauce after it thickened. After reading reviews of runny sauce, it could be that you didn't cook the sauce enough before putting it on top, it takes about 5-10 min of stirring after all the milk has been put in to see it really set. It does take longer than 45 min, lots of time went to prepping the eggplant, so set aside some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Best Moussaka ever! I took it on a camping trip and got lots of yummy comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Good recipe. nice find. Would work as written but these were my mods: I only had two eggplants & I messed-up part of one with my roasting method so in the end I had enough for an 8x8 pan but it turned out great. I tried to roast the eggplant & it mostly worked but I burnt one of them to the pan (not recipes fault & roasting works fine so I'll do that again next time.) For my reduced volume I used 3/4 lb ground beef and I used McCormick's "Greek seasoning" as my fine herbs. Neither my husband nor I like a heavy cinnamon/nutmeg taste so I used just a dash of each in the meat & none at the end. It looked like a high ratio of onions as I was cutting them so I only added about 1 medium white onion. (At the end I realize that 2 onions as originally recommended would've been appropriate, so again, follow the recipe.) No other mods, except I only used about 1/2-3/4 of the bechamel. (remember I had a smaller pan.) I think my meat & bechamel might've been a little thicker than it would've been otherwise but I wouldn't have changed anything. The recipe refrigerated well & actually "set" overnight so that the form (even after reheating) & flavors were better the next day. The wine is essential don't leave it out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Last night was my first attempt at making Greek food. I picked this recipe because it looked good, sounded good and easy and I had all the ingredients on hand, but one the fines herbs. I just added a little tarragon and sage (a suggestion I found online). My husband absolutely loved it. He said it was the best thing I had ever made. I love to try new recipes. We had it with Riunite Lambrusco Emilia. It was the perfect wine with this dish. I give it 5 stars plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klbarr55
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really disappointed with the results. Followed recipe exactly and it ended up being a goopy, oily mess with way too much sauce sitting on top. If I even bother to try it again, I would make half of the sauce or less, but I doubt I'll give this a second chance. Waste of alot of time and money, basically inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent, easy recipe. Tasted wonderful. I didn't add the egg to the meat mixture, because I like the crumbly meat texture...think Greek style sloppy Joe! Enjoy! Oh, and adding some fresh herbs on top, what was put into the meat sauce, gives it a nice finishing. Some cinnamon gives it an aroma to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States