Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Went to Greece on hour honeymoon and ate Moussaka like it was going out of style. I've been searching for a recipe that is as good as we remember & this is pretty great. I did bake the eggplant and baked/added a layer of potato too before putting it all together in the oven. I also added 2 egg yolks and one stiff egg white to the white sauce (came out AWESOME). BTW, this makes the perfect amount of white sauce, not too much at all. This dish IS labor intensive, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Fines Herb mix is equal parts chervil, chives, parsley, and tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have made this twice following most of the other reviews (add potatoes, grill eggplant, omit butter, add eggs to sauce). It is good, but a little bit bland...even after I increased the seasonings in the meat. I think next time I will experiment with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yummy! Moussaka is always my “go-to” dish whenever I eat Greek. I followed the modifications recommended by WSBLEND by adding the extra eggs while making the sauce, not using butter to brown the beef, and using a deeper pan for the baking. I also added the potatoes because who can say “no” to potatoes? It was tasty and I was lucky to have some leftovers the next day for lunch…but only because I saved a piece for myself before my guests arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
1 kg potatoes, sliced 1 cm thick, boiled 10 minutes; 3 aubergines, sliced 1 cm thick, grilled with olive oil salt pepper for 10 minutes; 500 gr minced beef, sauteed for 15 minutes with olive oil, 1 or 2 finely cut onions, 3 cloves of garlic, 1 can of tomatoes, tomato puree, salt, pepper, cinnamon, allspice, oregano; bechamel sauce of 40 gr butter, 40 gr flower, 1/2 liter milk, nutmeg, salt, pepper. Layers: potatoes, aubergines, meat, potatoes, aubergines, bechamelsauce. Top with grated cheese. 1 hour on 170 degrees Celsius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! I made this GLUTEN and YOLK FREE: 1. Do Broil the eggplant rather than frying -it takes too long and the egg plant wants to soak up the oil. Just brush on top of each slice and flip when golden. 2.Fine herbs is an herb mix -i didn't have everything but I used some crushed Rosemary, basil and a tiny bit of thyme -I don't care for thyme -to replace the fine herbs. 3. 1 clove of ELEPHANT garlic -not sure how that relates since the flavor is mild. 4. Skipped the wine -I don't drink, used water instead. 5. Bechemel sauce: I used the butter, about 1 to 1.5 cups plain yogurt, 2 egg whites and added more of the nutmeg, cinnamon plus salt and white pepper to the sauce. No need to cook it. I then layered it on a dish (just one layer of each) and baked for 1 hour. It was DELISH! Next time I think I will cut the butter in the sauce in half -it was tasty but a little much. YUMMY! Thank you for this recipe. It hink I will double this reipe next time since my family ate it all for dinner! I have since tried it using the fine herbs -no good. I much prefer my method above. Also half the butter is not as good, maybe you could cut it by 20% but honestly I will just use it all next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Delicious! I have only made Moussaka once before, but it didn't seem quite right to me, but I found this recipe and thought I'd give it another try. I am very glad that I did. This recipe was amazing! I made the meat portion of the recipe the night before, as others suggested, to save on time. Yes, it was very time consuming, yes it was totally worth the time. I also did as other suggested and added 2 extra eggs (separated and blended in) and I used 2 medium sized eggplants and two potatoes. For the eggplant, I cut it into rounds and set them out with salt, then I broiled them on each side for about 3 minutes. It worked out wonderfully. The Moussaka was a delight for everyone who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is the first time i tried making moussaka and i loved it. If i would change anything next time, it would be to adjust the spices and herbs and add more but cut back on the nutmeg a little but its all about personal preference i think. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delish! I went to Greece on my honeymoon and never had moussaka better than this. The only thing I add is a layer of potatoes on the bottom. They soak up a lot of the juice and are out of this world! Definitely try it, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe, but it does need a few revisions. As previous reviews mentioned, you need to add egg (beat the whites) to both the meat and bechamel scauce. Also, up the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. That was a good suggestion. The only problem I found was that it came out a little on the runny side. I think these are the things I should have done: 1. really dry out the eggplant before frying/baking and rather than tomato sauce, I'm going to use a paste next time around. hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States