Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My wife loves Mousaka. I spent time in Cyprus and she had the best Mousaka ever in a small restaurant across the road from our hotel. This recipe comes as close as possible to that experience. I made enough for 6 people using this recipe. But, I did not need three eggplants. I found two medium size were plenty. Get them black, soft and lightweight for the best. I used a thin potato base and roasted the potatoes in the oven with the prepared eggplant - 10 minutes each side at 350. I lightly sprayed with Olive Oil when I first put them in and when I turned them. I used three egg whites in the Bachemal Sauce (which my daughter insists I can, therefore, not call it Bachemal Sauce. I did up the meat sauce the night before and put it in the refrigerator overnight. I mixed in the three egg yolks. I didn't use as much Parmesan as the recipe calls for but did a liberal sprinkling of Parmesan on the meat layer, on the top eggplant layer and the sauce layer. The whole experience took me a good four hours. I am sure it will be quicker the next time but the rave reviews I got was worth the effort. And, in that four hours there was a lot of down time waiting for things to happen. My wife retired from the kitchen last year and handed me the pots and pans for my enjoyment. This recipe just made my reputation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heatherjk
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Excellent flavour! Don't cut out the nutmeg or cinnamon! I used garden fresh tomato sauce and a nice red wine with the addition of a bit of mint from the garden. Only downside was that I had a bit too much meat and bechamel sauce that went to waste so as to not overflow the pan. Mine was rather runny, though exceptionally tasty, upon first cutting into it so I would wait a good half hour for cooling to solidify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is the best Moussaka recipe. My family and I love it. Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
A good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
One medium onion would be fine and I would highly recommend draining your meat and cooking off the wine and tomato sauce until it is a very thick mixture. As for the béchamel sauce, there should have been 1/2 cup of flour rather than 6 Tbl and either cut back on the milk or add the last only if you need it. The sauce was way too thin and I cooked it at boiling for about 15 minutes which should be more than enough time. The pan needs to be at least twice the size. The taste was good but that's about the only positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I did have to substitute ground lamb for the ground beef due to a food intolerance, but this came out fantastically. Will make this again without hesitation (and I HIGHLY recommend this with lamb!). Sadly though, I can confirm, due to experimentation by a dining companion that this is also fantastic with tortilla chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Great recipe great flavors. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Labor-intensive, but worth the work! This is perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Ever since I tried the moussaka that they make at restaurants I have been wanting to make my own moussaka. I made some for my family and I and everybody loved it. I especially liked how I learned more about cooking and some special terms. Overall, making moussaka was a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Spiced well and tasted delicious. The only change I made was roasting the eggplant in the oven after brushing it with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States