Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
The taste was good. I used freshly ground super lean lamb. I sautéed the onion and added the spices for two minutes after the onion was sufficiently clear. I added lots of garlic then added the meat. I made the casserole in a 9"x13" pan and it was too thin. I will use a 9x9 next time. I didn't stiffen the egg whites, but I will next time as the sauce was not fluffy. I added the cheese to the sauce after adding the egg. Scalding the milk was a great idea as it speeded up the cooking time. This was just the perfect amount of sauce to go on top in my view. I just wish it was fluffier rather than creamy. I also did not fry the eggplant, I broiled it. This was less work and with a coat of olive oil it did the job well. Next time I will make the meat the day before as it didn't absorb the flavours I was hoping for. My family of 4 liked it and it is very filling. A side of salad greens is sufficient. We have plenty of leftovers for lunches. It wasn't like they make it at my favourite Greek restaurant in the city, but it was a good first attempt. I think the sauce adjustments will improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I'm using this recipe as a guideline to build on since we can't eat tomatoes or onions (replaced them with red bell pepper and celery). I'll leave the butter out of the meat and make 1/2 the white sauce since I want to keep the butter to a minimum. The proportions of the dish do seem off to me (heavy on eggplant and bechamel) but that depends on your druthers. Don't be afraid to play with this recipe to make it what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Cooks Supper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Tasted delicious bUT eggplant was tough Not sure why, but tasted wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Yum! I listened to the reviews and added eggs to the béchamel sauce, and used oregano/basil/thyme for fine herbs. Cut down on the butter everywhere I could. I am pretty certain I messed up the béchamel sauce. You really do have to pay attention, which doesn't happen with 2 toddlers running loose. But, it baked up fine. Tasted great, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annabanana
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Ten years after having moussaka in Greece for the first time, I finally worked up the courage to make it and it was A HIT! This recipe was a great base and with all the combined suggestions, it made it perfect. As one person said, it's not a 45 minute recipe. It was a lot of work but well worthwhile. Maybe with practice, it can become a 45 minute prep and an hour bake time. The amount of sauce was perfect not too much as few said. After reading through many reviews, these are the changes as per many reviewers or just because I didn't have something on hand: - I didn't peel the eggplant - separated 3 eggs, added yolks to cooled meat filling and beaten egg whites to the bechemel sauce. - no red wine in hand so I substituted chicken broth - omitted the butter altogether - -omitted the nutmeg on top - omitted the dried parsley (didn't have any -used 1/2 a jar of Ragu (that's what I had on hand) - added an additional tablespoon of flour -placed a couple of sliced potatoes on the bottom (peeled, sliced and baked 15 minutes with olive oil) I'm sure the original recipe was good but this was Delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aesj22
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This moussaka recipe is outstanding! I returned from my first visit to Greece, wanting to share this wonderful traditional dish with my family. I followed the recipe except followed a few reviewers' instructions. 1. I used a lasagna pan, 2. I added 3egg yolks and 3 stiff egg whites to bechamel sauce, 4. I only had one eggplant so for the top layer, I used 2 potatoes, 4. Instead of frying the eggplants and potatoes, I cooked them on the griddle with a little olive oil, 4. I added 1/2 c of feta to the top layer of parmisan cheese. Next time, I would double the meat to use the lasagna dish... I felt the meat layer was too thin. This was absolute heaven and reflective of my terrific visit to Greece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This! Oh my God! Feeling nostalgic about our recent Grecian honeymoon, I decided to make this on a whim. My husband and I moaned after EVERY bite. And even though it's a very rich dish I went back for seconds (and he for thirds). I broiled the eggplant instead of fried it. Had to do it in batches, so that took some time. Two medium eggplants were plenty (sliced 1/4 inch thin on my mandolin). I cut the second and third layers of parmesan cheese to 1/4 cup each, and added a a few tablespoons to the bechamel, as well as 1/4 t nutmeg, still sprinkling some on top at the end. The meat filling is so amazing on its own I plan to make it for stuffed peppers and zucchini and who knows what else when I don't have the time to put this full recipe together. Also, because I knew it was time consuming I prepared this in stages; I made the meat mixture a day ahead, broiled the eggplant and combined the layers in the morning, and prepared the bechamel 1/2 hour before I was ready to pop it in the oven. Seemed a little less overwhelming and messy that way. I will be making this for Christmas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
It was decent. Very hard to make. Too much bechame sauce/butter. Would lighten that up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This came out really well...it has a different taste with the cinnamon and nutmeg, but it was delicious! I had a lot of eggplant in the garden, so it was perfect to use it up. I used 3 medium eggplant. It does take a lot more prep time. It took me an hour and a half to get it ready for the oven, and I'm an experienced cook! After reading the reviews I mostly stuck to the recipe. I didn't want to add another 15 minutes and dirty a bowl to beat egg whites. I used ground beef and ground turkey for the meat (it's what I had.) I also used the Bechamel sauce recipe without adding any eggs. I also put an egg wash and breadcrumbs on the eggplant, but I think next time I would just add the cooked eggplant. I was thinking of grilling it on my George Foreman grill. I also used my 11 x 13 lasagna pan and it was perfect. (I just realized I used a pound of ground beef and a pound of turkey, so I accidently doubled the meat, but it was fine, without the extra meat it would have fit in a 9 x13 pan.) . I also let it sit for a half hour out of the oven to set. Really good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It's awesome except instead of 1 clove of garlic I used 10 cloves it was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoofdog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States