Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
It was decent. Very hard to make. Too much bechame sauce/butter. Would lighten that up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This came out really well...it has a different taste with the cinnamon and nutmeg, but it was delicious! I had a lot of eggplant in the garden, so it was perfect to use it up. I used 3 medium eggplant. It does take a lot more prep time. It took me an hour and a half to get it ready for the oven, and I'm an experienced cook! After reading the reviews I mostly stuck to the recipe. I didn't want to add another 15 minutes and dirty a bowl to beat egg whites. I used ground beef and ground turkey for the meat (it's what I had.) I also used the Bechamel sauce recipe without adding any eggs. I also put an egg wash and breadcrumbs on the eggplant, but I think next time I would just add the cooked eggplant. I was thinking of grilling it on my George Foreman grill. I also used my 11 x 13 lasagna pan and it was perfect. (I just realized I used a pound of ground beef and a pound of turkey, so I accidently doubled the meat, but it was fine, without the extra meat it would have fit in a 9 x13 pan.) . I also let it sit for a half hour out of the oven to set. Really good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It's awesome except instead of 1 clove of garlic I used 10 cloves it was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoofdog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I haven't made moussaka in forever and this recipe was spot on! It's going into my recipe box for sure. I think that next time I will follow as another post had mentioned and brush the eggplant with olive oil and roast them a bit in the oven while cooking the meat. I cooked the meat without any butter since this dish is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is by far the most difficult recipe I have ever attempted. I live in NJ where there are a million Greek Diners that have Moussaka on the menu. The next time I order this I am personally going into the kitchen and offer the chef my first-born child. WOW. I am an accomplished chef and this was so time-consuming but EXTREMELY worth the effort!!!!!!! I combined two of the recipes - this one and the one for Grilled Eggplant Moussaka as I wanted the potatoes in it and added cinnamon which the other recipe did not. I also added the egg yolks (but not the whites since I am allergic) and this recipe is absolutely scrumptious! Awesomeness! Next, I'm trying the Gyro recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this for a party the other day, everybody just loved it! The meat mixture is perfect, tastes like the best moussaka I've had I'm so glad I could recreate it. :) Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
The best, the very BEST moussaka, that I have ever eaten! I thought 4 eggplants would be too much but it wasn't. I found it is also important to let the dish sit for 30 minutes after taking it out of the over to let everything firm up. We loved this recipe and will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My wife loves Mousaka. I spent time in Cyprus and she had the best Mousaka ever in a small restaurant across the road from our hotel. This recipe comes as close as possible to that experience. I made enough for 6 people using this recipe. But, I did not need three eggplants. I found two medium size were plenty. Get them black, soft and lightweight for the best. I used a thin potato base and roasted the potatoes in the oven with the prepared eggplant - 10 minutes each side at 350. I lightly sprayed with Olive Oil when I first put them in and when I turned them. I used three egg whites in the Bachemal Sauce (which my daughter insists I can, therefore, not call it Bachemal Sauce. I did up the meat sauce the night before and put it in the refrigerator overnight. I mixed in the three egg yolks. I didn't use as much Parmesan as the recipe calls for but did a liberal sprinkling of Parmesan on the meat layer, on the top eggplant layer and the sauce layer. The whole experience took me a good four hours. I am sure it will be quicker the next time but the rave reviews I got was worth the effort. And, in that four hours there was a lot of down time waiting for things to happen. My wife retired from the kitchen last year and handed me the pots and pans for my enjoyment. This recipe just made my reputation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heatherjk
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Excellent flavour! Don't cut out the nutmeg or cinnamon! I used garden fresh tomato sauce and a nice red wine with the addition of a bit of mint from the garden. Only downside was that I had a bit too much meat and bechamel sauce that went to waste so as to not overflow the pan. Mine was rather runny, though exceptionally tasty, upon first cutting into it so I would wait a good half hour for cooling to solidify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is the best Moussaka recipe. My family and I love it. Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States