Moussaka Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I tried this because we had potatoes, tomatoes and eggplant from the garden. It was okay, nothing special. Followed recipe as written except for making my own mashed potatoes and crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I browned and drained the meat before transferring it to a casserole dish to bake in the oven. I also made my own mashed potatoes rather than instant, and added a layer of mozzarella cheese. This dish was a first for our household and it was enjoyed. It has been added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made exactly as described except that I used home-made mashed potatoes (Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes recipe, from this website) instead of refrigerated. I used the ground beef and dark raisins options. DELICIOUS! And I loved that I only had to use one cooking dish... unfortunately, I decided to brown the potatoes under the broiler for 2 minutes after baking 20 minutes on the bottom oven rack, and I had it too close to the heating element so I burned the handle of my nice 12" Calphalon skillet.... live and learn. (Broiling did brown the potatoes beautifully though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious. But, please use fresh mashed potatoes! Simply delicious. We used tomatoes from the garden (in a pasta sauce) and eggplant. Simply terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Very good! I loved an eggplant in it. Tasted almost like mushrooms. My 8-year old kids didn't appreciate it, though:) I did go through all the eggplant-bleeding process, that's not mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Loved it...I made it vegetarian, by substituting 1 12oz package of Morningstar Farms meatless crumbles for 2 lbs of ground meat. And, I sprinkled crumbled feta over the eggplant before topping with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Great recipe. I made it many times. Once with eggplant and once with zucchini. Once with mashed potatoes and once with white sauce. Next time I'll add some sliced almond. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I changed the recipe bit due to Gluten and dairy allergies, but found it very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Had an eggplant on hand and some ground beef, found this recipe (LOVE the "ingredients search" on this site!!) and threw it together. Very tasty and will definitely make it again. Made a few minor changes to make it easier: 1) A little less olive oil to fry the onions and garlic. 2) Add and brown the ground beef, but hold off on adding the spices and tomatoes. 3) DRAIN the ground beef to get the fat and extra oil out. 4) In a separate bowl, stir in the spices (also add one teaspoon of cumin, as per a reviewer's suggestion) into the crushed tomatoes and, once the ground beef is drained, add it. I did sprinkle a tiny bit of Greek Seasoning, along with sea salt and pepper, on the oiled eggplant before broiling on each side. It all came together beautifully, but the leftovers the next day were even better! Keeping this recipe, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was good and different, but it took a good 1 1/2 hours of non-stop kitchen preparation (made the mashed potatoes from scratch because I couldn't find the prepared ones and salted and drained the eggplant). I am not sure that the result was worth it. The kids were very suspicious of the eggplant, but that says more about me and them than the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States