Moussaka Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is such a great one dish recipe! My husband is raving and even my 18 month old daughter ate it! We used Italian seasoned ground turkey and followed the recipe. I also made garlic mashed potatoes instead of regular. I did forget to add teh egg to the potatoes, but we didn't miss it. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used left over turkey meat rather than ground turkey. At the last minute, I couldn't find where I put the raisins, so I left them out. I also couldn't resist adding cheese on top of the potato. The family devoured this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
For diebetics, mention that raisins should not be included in this recipe. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! I love comfort foods; and since I cannot have dairy, this was a great one. I used 1/2 pound of beef (it's all that I had) and an entire eggplant which covered a 9x13 pan fine. I used instant potatoes and added some butter to the potatoes when finished. The recipe says 1 hour 25 minutes til ready; but mine was ready much quicker. I'd say all in all 50 minutes from prep to eating. You could even do the meat base (minus the eggplant and mashed potatoes) in the AM or crock-pot and put it together at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
WE loved this. My husband thought he liked it even better than regular Moussaka. I only deviated from the recipe because he had bought "italian seasoned ground turkey" instead of regular. It was just right. I used the steam in bag mashed potatoes (12 oz) and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. I used fresh mashed potatoes (about 7 medium) and fresh diced tomatoes (5 medium) and left out the raisins. Needed a fair bit of salt, and put in some Montreal chicken spice as well - phenom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Absolutely superb! I only used 1 lb ground turkey (it's all I had) and the whole can of crushed tomatoes. I added 1 tsp cumin to the spices, and seasoned the eggplant with black pepper. I made homemade mashed potatoes for the topping (7 small-to-med Idaho potatoes), and seasoned those with garlic powder and black pepper. I baked everything in a 9 x 13 dish. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Simple, tasty, and mild. I added fresh mozzarella between layers (moussaka is the Greek's equivalent of lasagna) and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kilmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Creek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boiceville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
We used turkey, omitted the raisins. And an addtional can of diced tomatoes with basil, oregano and garlic. Also baked this for about 45 minutes covered and 15 uncovered. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We had a ton of leftover sliced eggplant after buying more than was needed for an eggplant parm recipe so I looked around for a different eggplant recipe and landed here. To my surprise, my whole family liked it. Calling it "Eggplant Moussaka" makes it sound so exotic, but really if you like shepherd's pie this is just a different spin on the same thing. I was sure *not* to mention the golden raisins to anyone and they were a neat surprise. We'll make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States