Moussaka Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I changed the recipe bit due to Gluten and dairy allergies, but found it very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Had an eggplant on hand and some ground beef, found this recipe (LOVE the "ingredients search" on this site!!) and threw it together. Very tasty and will definitely make it again. Made a few minor changes to make it easier: 1) A little less olive oil to fry the onions and garlic. 2) Add and brown the ground beef, but hold off on adding the spices and tomatoes. 3) DRAIN the ground beef to get the fat and extra oil out. 4) In a separate bowl, stir in the spices (also add one teaspoon of cumin, as per a reviewer's suggestion) into the crushed tomatoes and, once the ground beef is drained, add it. I did sprinkle a tiny bit of Greek Seasoning, along with sea salt and pepper, on the oiled eggplant before broiling on each side. It all came together beautifully, but the leftovers the next day were even better! Keeping this recipe, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was good and different, but it took a good 1 1/2 hours of non-stop kitchen preparation (made the mashed potatoes from scratch because I couldn't find the prepared ones and salted and drained the eggplant). I am not sure that the result was worth it. The kids were very suspicious of the eggplant, but that says more about me and them than the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We had a ton of leftover sliced eggplant after buying more than was needed for an eggplant parm recipe so I looked around for a different eggplant recipe and landed here. To my surprise, my whole family liked it. Calling it "Eggplant Moussaka" makes it sound so exotic, but really if you like shepherd's pie this is just a different spin on the same thing. I was sure *not* to mention the golden raisins to anyone and they were a neat surprise. We'll make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
We used turkey, omitted the raisins. And an addtional can of diced tomatoes with basil, oregano and garlic. Also baked this for about 45 minutes covered and 15 uncovered. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Simple, tasty, and mild. I added fresh mozzarella between layers (moussaka is the Greek's equivalent of lasagna) and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kilmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Creek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boiceville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've never had regular moussaka so not sure how it was supposed to taste. To me, not a sophisticated palate, it tasted alittle bland and greasy. I used ground beef and ground venison (cause that's what I had on hand). In the future, I'd brown the meat first, drain off the grease and then add to the onions/garlic as the recipe called for. I added just a touch of hot sauce to give this alittle kick. I served it over Chinese Cabbage, very hot, to wilt the cabbage and that is what made it good. The cinnamon, clove and raisins make for an interesting flavor. None of which overwhelmed the dish. I liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Absolutely superb! I only used 1 lb ground turkey (it's all I had) and the whole can of crushed tomatoes. I added 1 tsp cumin to the spices, and seasoned the eggplant with black pepper. I made homemade mashed potatoes for the topping (7 small-to-med Idaho potatoes), and seasoned those with garlic powder and black pepper. I baked everything in a 9 x 13 dish. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used left over turkey meat rather than ground turkey. At the last minute, I couldn't find where I put the raisins, so I left them out. I also couldn't resist adding cheese on top of the potato. The family devoured this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. I used fresh mashed potatoes (about 7 medium) and fresh diced tomatoes (5 medium) and left out the raisins. Needed a fair bit of salt, and put in some Montreal chicken spice as well - phenom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States