Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Way too much sauce to noodles. There also wasn't enough flour to bind it so the sauce is very loose. Lastly there also isn't enough salt despite the Velveeta. Overall this was very disappointing. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I love this recipe! I did not change a thing. My family loves it and everyone always asks me to bring this to family gatherings! The best Mac and Cheese recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I agree that a 2 qt dish is required, but I disagree about the pasta to cheese ratio. Maybe Mouse and I are kindred cheese spirits? I absolutely loved it, but I had to make several of my own tweaks to get it perfect. I left out the mustard powder because I didn't have any, but it didn't taste like it's lacking (although I don't know what it tastes like with it, so...) I sautéed diced onion and garlic in the butter before adding the flour and pepper. I also don't like processed cheese taste, so I just used regular cheddar, but I imagine you could sub any cheese and it would be delish! I didn't have 18 oz of cheese, only 13 so that's how much I used and it was plenty cheesy! I always use Panko instead of regular breadcrumbs, which I highly recommend. Much better crisp! I don't like "runny" mac and cheese, so I cooked it UNCOVERED to make sure enough liquid evaporated. It did require the full 25 minutes to thicken up for me, and then I broiled it for about 5 minutes to get a little crunch on the top. I also let it set for 15 minutes after coming out of the oven. I will certainly make this again, and again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I thought I made the best mac and cheese until I tried this one. Everyone loved it. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
The first time I made this recipe, I was immediately craving more. I have to eliminate the pepper when I make it for my mother, but my boyfriend and I love the bite the black pepper gives. He even said this is better than his grandmother's Mac and cheese. This is definitely going to become a go to recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My family is a LOVER of Mac and Cheese and this is by far been their favorite!!! I use Organic noodles when I make this and you can not tell. I am not a big fan of processed anything, especially Velvetta so I read some comments and realized that that is what makes it creamy. So, I could not find the Kraft Classic Melts like one reader suggested, so I used Kraft "Triple Cheddar". The Philadelphia cheese that was in it helped with the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TennisMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I changed it a tad to work for our family. I used 2 cups macaroni noodles. Added 1/2 cup 1/2 & 1/2 to thin sauce at the end. I used an 8oz pouch of shredded sharp cheddar and 8 oz of Velveeta 2% milk. I also cut down on the Mustard and pepper to 1/2 tsp. My kids do not like to see that much pepper and I don't prefer that strong of a mustard flavor. This is my go to recipe. Every time I make it everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I was iffy about trying this recipe because of the processed cheese. I rarely have processed cheese in my household and now I see why. Nothing beats homemade mac and cheese with REAL cheese. I made it exactly as stated but I didn't like the outcome. At first it seemed cheesy and moist but as it sat out it just kinda dried up and tasted artificial. I would consider the taste of this the same as a box of Kraft Deluxe Mac and Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
The taste was great but after it sits for 5-10 minutes it turns in to a globby mess. It sticks together and hardens. I am still looking for recipe that is smooth and tasty and more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Easy, delicious, and loved by everyone!! So glad I tried it!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 802) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States