Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I do love this recipe it is very very good. I would not change anything. To ensure the mac will not burn a bit only bake it 20 minutes no more than that. My husband liked it A LOT! This recipe is definitely a keeper! By the way, I made half the recipe and used instead the sliced versions of medium cheddar and American cheese packed in single form. The result was just like using lots of Velveeta. If you like thick macaroni and cheese this is a recipe to go for. Do not hesitate using my option, because it will not be runny at all! If this had ended too runny I would have not liked it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great mac and cheese recipe. I'm not a fan of Velveeta, but I substitute Colby Jack and it comes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I thought this was a great and easy recipe! I made a couple changes just for fun and it turned out great! I used medium cheddar cheese instead of American, 3 cups of uncooked shells instead of elbow macaroni, and I added imitation crab to mimic the lobster Mac and cheese from Costco because I've been craving that! I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My husband loved it… but I wasn't a huge fan. But as far as homestyle Mac n' Cheese, it was the best recipe I've found. Only 3 stars because it does NOT keep well. Eat it right when ready or don't eat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My ten-year-old loved this. And believe it or not, the leftovers were even better than what we enjoyed fresh from the oven. This definitely should be baked in a larger casserole dish than what is called for in the instructions in order to avoid boil-overs. I found 3/4 tsp pepper provided ample spiciness without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is about as simple as you can make it...and it's delicious. A couple of points. If your sauce is grainy it's because you used pre-shredded cheese from the store. Manufactured shredding cheese has added Potato starch, corn starch and Calcium Sulfate "to prevent clumping' of the product. It also adds a delightful 'sandiness' to the final product! Sorry, but some things in the kitchen require more than 'open and pour'. Grate your cheese. Obviously Velveeta doesn't grate well. I slice 4 oz blocks off the main piece and use a wire cheese slicer on the narrow side for manageable pieces. Final, ovens vary! America's Test Kitchen did a survey among their chefs on their home ovens. Each person was given the same brand of oven thermometer (calibrated) and sent home to test. "Heat oven to 350F and record the result." The ovens actual measured temperature varied by 100 degrees F.! (300F to 400F) It didn't matter whether the oven was a $200 cheapo or a $5,000 monster...they were all inaccurate! My point? Know your oven, not just the info printed on the page. And if your oven thermometer is a $2 item from the grocery store? Well, good luck with that one. All seasonings are to taste (you're the one eating it), spices vary in source, freshness and age, quality...so the same rule applies. If you stick to the recipe, EXACTLY AS WRITTEN and it's perfect for you, you're just lucky this time. To quote Chef John, "Cooking is a process". It's not a formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
First time I've ever bought or used Velveeta, and I think it all comes down to liking or not liking that artificial cheese stuff taste. We didn't. Not even the kids liked it. Guess we're just a real cheese kinda family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So sorry to say it but we thought it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilbitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family loved this! I followed the portion of macaroni recommended and it turned out great. Will definitely do this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States