Mountain Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
These cookies were very rich and very good. They taste best after being refrigerated. Very fancy looking too. I plan to make these for Christmas presents. I think that next time, I will decrease the sugar in the filling and topping- they were a little too sweet. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very rich, very tasty and rather finicky to make but completely worth it for the annual Christmas baking. A tip - be sure to make the butter cookies small, if you don't get 4 dozen they're too big and will end up being too sweet. As small bite sized treats though they are perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Worked loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These cookies were the crowning achievement in my Christmas cookie tray this year -- worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are excellent - everyone raves when I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Everyone loves this recipe. My friend requests it for her birthday every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
The butter cookie, which is the base of this cookie, is terrible. Nobody liked it. I rated this 2 stars because the filling is very good and the cookies are beautiful. But the recipe did not come close to making 4 dozen as it claims. I only made 16 cookies with my dough and they were 1 inch balls as directed in the directions. My husband said these cookies were only good for one thing....to use skeet shooting. As gorgeous as they look, nobody wanted to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
Yummy, different, great for Christmas! Since my husband doesn't like nuts, I just doubled the coconut and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This are delicious cookies. The recipe didn't make 4 dozen; I only got about 16 cookies. The first batch I had a hard time getting the dough to roll. It seemed to need something more (butter, water, or maybe an egg) to keep the crumbly mixture together. When I put the indention in the cookie, it really crumbled. So, the second batch, I added 1 tablespoon of water and 2 more tablespoons of butter. The mixture held together and rolled out better. This time I didn't put the indentation in immediately, I let them cook for about 5 minutes, then put made the little hole. This worked much better. I love the filling and the chocolate drizzle. Plan to use caramel drizzle next time. Very melt-n-your mouth cookie! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonkid
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I loved making this recipe, caution though when you drizzle the chocolate on top of the cookies it is hot. I will be making these cookies again I was very impressed on how these turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States