Mountain Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Very easy to follow directions but can also easily be added to to expand recipe to needed amount. Excellent with cream cheese and sugar mixture wrapped with apple under crescent roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Such an easy and delicious recipe! I made it for thanksgiving and have been asked to make it thrice already! I cut down on the white sugar a bit and replaced with light brown sugar to give it a slightly molasses-like flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made with honeycrisp apples, there is nothing better you can do with an apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
After reading several reviews, we cut the sugar to one cup and only used 8oz Mt. Dew. Still needs a little tweaking, but man these are YUMMY! We will peel the apples next time and season the apples with cinnamon and sugar before baking. I think then, it will be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good. I followed Cookin in Holland's suggestions and that made this perfect. We don't eat this type of food often, but I wanted to try this unique recipe and I'm glad I did. I didn't really expect great results using canned crescent rolls and Mountain Dew, but I was surprised how great this was. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
As much as I love butter, the quantity called for here is much more than is necessary or, in my humble opinion, desired. The same goes for the sugar, where 1/2-cup is more than a plenty. Think about it. There are 24 tablespoons of sugar in 1-1/2 cups, so that's 1-1/2 tablespoons of sugar for each 1/8-wedge of apple wrapped in canned crescent-roll dough, and that doesn't include the sugar in the Mountain Dew. I'd also suggest the recipe is more complex than necessary. I have a burner-proof deep-dish pie plate. A pie tin would work, as well. I melt my butter in the pie plate on the stove top, add the sugar, cinnamon and Mountain Dew once the butter is melted, and transfer the syrup off the stove top. Then I preheat my oven, put together the apples and crescent-roll dough, place the dough covered apples in the warm syrup, and put the dish in the oven to bake as directed. Note also that a cup of water and the juice of half a lemon or lime is a healthy alternative to the carbonated soda pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I've made this for longer than I can remember and I do a couple of things differently...first I use 2 cans of crescents which is 16 triangles, then I use 4 very flavorful apples (fugi, Braeburn, gala) and peel core and quarter them, then wrap each chunk in a triangle of dough and lay them seam side down in a 9x13 glass pan ( they might look a little odd and lumpy but they don't after baking.) Here's the trick to the most delicious cobbler..measure 1 1/2 cups of bottled apple juice or cider into a small pan, add 1/2 stick of butter, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp. vanilla extract and bring to a boil.. Watch it, this will boil over easily.. Then pour all of the syrup over the roll ups, making sure each one is drizzled with the syrup, this will make them lovely crispy and brown. Bake at 350* for about 30 minutes open oven door and sprinkle generously with turbinado sugar ( this adds a sparkle and crunch to the crust)or regular granulated sugar, then bake until brown and bubbly. Let cool for at least 1/2 hour then serve with ice cream, whipped cream or fresh cream and enjoy:) they're really delish the next day too, if they survive that long..yummy! And by the way we always called them dumplings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I thought this was delicious. Even as left overs for the next few days. But when it comes out fresh, it is SO good. Guilty food pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really really sweet, but my husband and 3 year old really seemed to enjoy this dish. Too sweet for my taste, but a very interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OH MY GOD!!!! Is all I can say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States