Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent! Super easy and delicious. I made a couple changes but only to how I put them together to make it even easier. Once I take the crust out of the oven I pour the sweetened condensed milk over the crust and gently spread that evenly, then sprinkle the coconut over that and gently pat down into the sweetened condensed milk. Bake. Take out of the oven a couple minutes early and sprinkle with chocolate chips (I like to do 50% milk chocolate and 50% semi sweet). Allow to cook for a few more minutes, take out of the oven and spread the chocolate chips evenly and cool before cutting. I use a slightly smaller pan than a 9x13 so the bars are a little thicker. Yum! A huge hit every time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Honestly, I was pretty disappointed with the first round of this recipe. The crust was crumbly and never set properly. The coconut was impossible to spread, as was the chocolate. So here is how I did it on round two. I used no sugar and 1 cup of butter for 2 cups of graham crumbs. I sprinkled the coconut on top of the crust and then poured the condensed milk over that. I then sprinkled the chips on it and let it sit in the oven after I turned it off and then gently smoothed the top with a icing spatula. End of the day, this is a great concept for a recipe, but the directions as is are a little impractical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMargaretAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Had some nice compliments on these - only had one tiny piece myself because I'm trying to shed a couple lbs. I did put some almonds on top to make it look nice + a Tbls. oil in the chocolate chips. Will make again when I can test them out better. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Fantastic! This was a great recipe and it was really enjoyed by all. I definitely recommend using an 8x8 pan and spreading the chocolate chips evenly over the hot coconut mixture to let them melt. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this last night and today I ate a piece of it and found the graham cracker mixture extremely hard. Is it supposed to be that hard? I did have it in the fridge over night but put it on the counter for about an hour before cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anissa Rae Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious!! And so easy...I made these with a couple of the suggested shortcuts: after baking the graham cracker base I sprinkled the coconut on and then poured the condensed milk over the top and baked - that worked just fine; then I sprinkled the chocolate chips over the coconut layer and baked for an additional 2 minutes. The chips were softened enough to spread easily. We like these better than the traditional 7 layer bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
These were delicious! I used bittersweet chocolate chips, and that seemed to be the right choice (at least for our house). I wish I had read the reviews and saw to sprinkle the coconut on the crust, followed by the SCM - it wasn't a huge deal, but it would have made an already simple recipe more simple. My only real criticism is that I wish the coconut filling was thicker, and I see that a lot of reviewers felt the same - next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I love this recipe! I made it as a late night snack and it didn't disappoint! I found the consistency of the coconut layer to be a little too thick to spread, so I splashed some almond milk in there to even it out. My only regret is that I melted my chocolate too long--it became all clumpy and I couldn't smoothly spread it over the coconut. I had to sprinkle it in large clumps but I threw in some crushed almonds and it tasted just like a Mound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eman Qureshi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I had to melt more chocolate for the top but otherwise it was a great recipe. I just used my fingers to spread the coconut and it worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wow, this recipe was so amazing, and I was worried because every time I try out something new, I get all excited, and it's a flop. It was so easy, took few ingredients, and was a hit with the kids. Was concerned about how difficult it would be spreading out the coconut mixture from previous reviews, but I just spooned it out a little bit at a time and spread it as I went and that seemed to work fine. I didn't melt the chocolate chips, took advice from one of the reviews to just spread the chocolate chips on the coconut after it cooked, popped it back in the oven for 2 minutes and then spread out the melted chips and that worked great. I keep it chilled in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States