Mou Shu Pork Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Nice Asian influenced wrap. I did add a little sesame oil to the pan before adding the pork, onion, ginger and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Really easy! I used apple cider vinegar instead of Sake.. seemed to work fine. Loved being able to use some different ingredients than what I am use to. Tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wowheart
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was real easy and a big hit in my house. I did not use pork though. I used chicken and it was still wonderful. I will make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wowheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I had some pork chops that were cooked the night before that needed to be used so I made something based on this recipe. I started with the onion, garlic, and ginger (which I used about 2 TBSP. of the kind in the tube). Then I added the pork (since it was already cooked). I added pepper (I only had green), the mushrooms, and I didn't have bok choy so I used bamboo shoots from the can. Cooked all of that until heated. THEN, I considered it done. I didn't add any of the sauce ingredients. INSTEAD, I put the filling on a tortilla then topped it with plum sauce. I thought it was pretty good this way and my kids actually ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I don't know what Mou Shu pork is supposed to taste like, so can't say if it's authentic or not - but I enjoyed this, it was tasty but there was too much sauce - I'll halve it next time. I didn't bother with tortilla wraps, just served it as a stir fry and it was great. Used less bean sprouts than the recipe specified, will add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I wanted to pare down the time it took to make this recipe, so I purchased a bagged mix of shredded asian veggies (in the bagged salad section) instead of slicing all the vegetables myself. It worked out great, and saved tons of time I would have spent chopping. Omitted the sake, as I was feeding this to the kids, and used dried ginger powder instead of fresh. I definitely recommend using egg-roll wrappers instead of tortillas - they have the right "asian" texture and taste. Steam them for a few minutes before serving, or microwave a few at a time wrapped in a moist paper towel, for 30-seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This was just okay. If you can imagine a egg roll with a soft shell, this is it! Very americanized. Buying good sake was a waste of money. Too much work for the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Very tasty- my husband really liked this. We added some plum sauce to the tortillas before putting the meat mixture on them since that is how our favorite Chinese restaurant serves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
NOTHING ever tastes like Chinese from a restaurant, but I think this one is pretty good. The only part I followed exactly was the sauce, which was good but we added more soy at the table. Didn't have ginger or mushrooms, and used napa cabbage, shredded carrots and thinly sliced snow peas instead of bok choy and red pepper. I also added scrambled egg and a little sesame oil. The sauce was kind of soupy, maybe next time I'll add some cornstarch to thicken. Not sure how to kick up the taste without more "sauce". Served over rice instead of with wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Really good; I also add 2 scrambled eggs to the stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States