Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I thought it was kind of bland. I did add carrots and potatoes, but the meat still definitely needed ketchup. I was disappointed to use my sirloin tip roast on this recipe. I chuck roast would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The flavor was good but a little too much tomato for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really enjoyed, family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maedaysmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We loved this!! So easy and fast to throw together. The only changes I made were to use corn starch for the thickener (we're gluten-free) and I cooked on high for about 6 hours rather than reducing the temp. Moist, tender, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good. Sauce was yummy. I think I cooked a bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
i didn't care for this recipe at all. the tomato sauce just made it taste more like a stew than a pot roast. the gravy was not to my liking :-( maybe i didn't do it right or something but this def was not my favorite recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbcummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
When I first read this recipe, I thought that the tomato sauce wouldn't be good with the meat because I usually bake my roast in beef broth. Being a new wife with no prior cooking experiences, I love to try new recipes from this website all the time! ANYWAY I made this pot roast last night and I must say it was absolutely the best! I threw all of the ingredients into my crock-pot, sat the time for 10 hours on low. The meat was soooo tender and delicious. I didn't make the sauce though, (Okay, I admit I forgot!) but I served this with mashed potatoes, mac n chese, fried apples, and cake. It was delicious. Much better than baking a roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
very good... Still unable to get my picky toddler to eat it, but it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This didn't seem to have the right flavor for pot roast. The gravy had a great consistency but there was too much tomato flavor and not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States