Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
EASY!! I used olive oil instead of cooking spray, 8 oz of tomato sauce and 1 cup prego spaghetti sauce. I seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt and bay leaf. My FROZEN bottom round roast (pot roast) came out nice and moist. I did not make gravy, I just put the sauce over each serving and ate it. I cooked it for 9 hours on low. ADDING seasonings or spices is a must. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used a can of italian diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. I put it on before I went to bed so I could have some to take to work the next day, but I forgot about it! I came home from work and (after cooking for over 18 hours on low) it was wonderful! The roast was falling apart and wasn't dry at all. I was worried about the long cooking time, but even cooking so long, this was wonderful. Next time I think I'll stick to the shorter cooking time though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Nice change from the usual dry or canned soup mix recipes! I used homemade tomato sauce I had put up from my garden, as well as a glug of red wine (Sangiovese), some minced garlic, fresh parsley and fresh oregano. The sauce was thinner than I would have liked after cooking, but rather than thickening it with flour I just transferred it to a saucepan and reduced it on the stovetop. The meat was tender and well-flavored and the reduced sauce was perfect tossed with pasta and grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was SO simple and SO good! I didn't make the gravy- it didn't need it. This is a nice, quick meal I'll make again and again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Quite delicious, and oh-so-easy. I added a little red wine, and some carrots, but you wouldn't have to. We served it over egg noodles to soak up all the wonderful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used this recipe on the stove top to the oven instead of the slow cooker. I grow weary of the crockpot - the meat came out perfectly (sometimes it gets kinda mushy in the slow cooker for me.) - firm but not chewy. I loved the combo of flavors. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was great! My family loved it. It was easy and the house smelled good all day. I just thickened the sauce in the crockpot after I removed the meat. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My husband really enjoyed this dish. It was very tender and simple to make. I added 4 cloves garlic and I didn't make the grave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
A very good roast! Turned out so tender it literally fell apart when being scooped onto a plate. I served with the Traditional Mashed Potatoes and the Asparagus Parmesan recipes, both from this site. If serving with mashed potatoes, I would recommend offering a beef gravy as some people might not like the tomato based gravy from the roast on their potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States