Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
EASY!! I used olive oil instead of cooking spray, 8 oz of tomato sauce and 1 cup prego spaghetti sauce. I seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt and bay leaf. My FROZEN bottom round roast (pot roast) came out nice and moist. I did not make gravy, I just put the sauce over each serving and ate it. I cooked it for 9 hours on low. ADDING seasonings or spices is a must. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used a can of italian diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. I put it on before I went to bed so I could have some to take to work the next day, but I forgot about it! I came home from work and (after cooking for over 18 hours on low) it was wonderful! The roast was falling apart and wasn't dry at all. I was worried about the long cooking time, but even cooking so long, this was wonderful. Next time I think I'll stick to the shorter cooking time though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Nice change from the usual dry or canned soup mix recipes! I used homemade tomato sauce I had put up from my garden, as well as a glug of red wine (Sangiovese), some minced garlic, fresh parsley and fresh oregano. The sauce was thinner than I would have liked after cooking, but rather than thickening it with flour I just transferred it to a saucepan and reduced it on the stovetop. The meat was tender and well-flavored and the reduced sauce was perfect tossed with pasta and grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was SO simple and SO good! I didn't make the gravy- it didn't need it. This is a nice, quick meal I'll make again and again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Quite delicious, and oh-so-easy. I added a little red wine, and some carrots, but you wouldn't have to. We served it over egg noodles to soak up all the wonderful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used this recipe on the stove top to the oven instead of the slow cooker. I grow weary of the crockpot - the meat came out perfectly (sometimes it gets kinda mushy in the slow cooker for me.) - firm but not chewy. I loved the combo of flavors. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was great! My family loved it. It was easy and the house smelled good all day. I just thickened the sauce in the crockpot after I removed the meat. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My husband really enjoyed this dish. It was very tender and simple to make. I added 4 cloves garlic and I didn't make the grave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
A very good roast! Turned out so tender it literally fell apart when being scooped onto a plate. I served with the Traditional Mashed Potatoes and the Asparagus Parmesan recipes, both from this site. If serving with mashed potatoes, I would recommend offering a beef gravy as some people might not like the tomato based gravy from the roast on their potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States