Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love easy recipes and this one was not only easy but also very good. Grandchildren who rarely eat meat went back for more. I used a short rib roast and the meat literally fell apart when taken out of the slow cooker. Like others, I also added some vegetables which were also very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great Recipe. I use to make pot roast but never used tomatoes in mine and was not sure how it would taste but IT WAS FANTASTIC..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl McCann Kosty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Been trying for years to make a good pot roast and finally succeeded with this recipe. Added some potatoes and carrots to the bottom of the pot and a little fresh ground pepper before turning it on. Work a long day, so cooked on low the entire time--10 hours. A little salt and 2 dashes of Worcestershire to the gravy was the perfect final touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oclocal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This roast turned out great and is a nice change from my regular onion mix crockpot roast. The gravy was very good. I removed the roast and bay leaves, and left the sauce and onions in the pot. I added the flour and then used a hand blender to make a smooth gravy, then turned the crockpot to high for a few minutes. My husband said this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was a little skeptical about making this since we are not big fans of tomatoes, and oh boy was I right!. Even though I added a couple of thing such as extra garlic, a bit of beef stock, wine and some herbs this roast was quite bland. I was planning not to make the gravy, but when I tasted the roast I knew I had to. I added 1/4C of red wine to a pot and reduced it a bit to make a base for my gravy, it was quite tasty. I shredded the meat and poured the gravy on it..this was the only way I was able to infuse some flavor into this meat. Dont know if I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
You will never make any other type of pot roast after having this one. I am not a pot roast lover but the gravy with this one is hands down the best gravy I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
YUMMY! Served this to company and to rave reviews. Will definetly make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Recipe is amazingly delicious as is. Only change I made was I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper before placing in slow cooker. I used an eye round roast as it was on sale and I know it is a nice tender piece of meat. I also added some minced garlic and an extra bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
EASY!! I used olive oil instead of cooking spray, 8 oz of tomato sauce and 1 cup prego spaghetti sauce. I seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt and bay leaf. My FROZEN bottom round roast (pot roast) came out nice and moist. I did not make gravy, I just put the sauce over each serving and ate it. I cooked it for 9 hours on low. ADDING seasonings or spices is a must. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States