Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I thought it was kind of bland. I did add carrots and potatoes, but the meat still definitely needed ketchup. I was disappointed to use my sirloin tip roast on this recipe. I chuck roast would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The flavor was good but a little too much tomato for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really enjoyed, family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maedaysmiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We loved this!! So easy and fast to throw together. The only changes I made were to use corn starch for the thickener (we're gluten-free) and I cooked on high for about 6 hours rather than reducing the temp. Moist, tender, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good. Sauce was yummy. I think I cooked a bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
i didn't care for this recipe at all. the tomato sauce just made it taste more like a stew than a pot roast. the gravy was not to my liking :-( maybe i didn't do it right or something but this def was not my favorite recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbcummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
When I first read this recipe, I thought that the tomato sauce wouldn't be good with the meat because I usually bake my roast in beef broth. Being a new wife with no prior cooking experiences, I love to try new recipes from this website all the time! ANYWAY I made this pot roast last night and I must say it was absolutely the best! I threw all of the ingredients into my crock-pot, sat the time for 10 hours on low. The meat was soooo tender and delicious. I didn't make the sauce though, (Okay, I admit I forgot!) but I served this with mashed potatoes, mac n chese, fried apples, and cake. It was delicious. Much better than baking a roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
very good... Still unable to get my picky toddler to eat it, but it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This didn't seem to have the right flavor for pot roast. The gravy had a great consistency but there was too much tomato flavor and not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States