Mother's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Excellent! I'll definately make this again, it was a big hit with the kids! I will, however, omit the salt- it was too salty for our taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was outstanding! Like the others, I wanted to use up leftover ham from last SUMMER before I cooked another for the Christmas holidays. I didn't have green pepper so I used some leftover green beans. This got such rave reviews, the very next day I made another and froze it for a night in January when I don't feel like cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Wonderful! I was something other than ham and scalloped potatos to use up leftover ham, and I'm so glad I found this. I omitted the bell pepper and used dried bread crumbs, but otherwise stuck to the original recipe. It was fantastic! Kind of like a pot-pie without the crust. My husband said it's his new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Wow so simple yet so good. I had brown sugar ham leftover from Easter and I wasn't sure how it would blend with the other flavors. Let me just say there wasn't a crumb left in the dish. I used dried bread crumbs on the top. Nice and crunchy in the corners just how I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My hubby and I loved this recipe - he thought it was hearty and filling and I loved the creaminess and simplicity yet richness of flavors. I used a package of cooked diced ham instead of leftover ham and cooked the ham, onion, and bell pepper in only 1 Tbsp of butter. I used only 3 Tbsp of butter for the creamy sauce, and it still turned out fine. (I felt that 7 Tbsp of butter was a bit too much!) I added lots of freshly ground pepper to the casserole and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Excellent! I only made a few changes. First of all I changed the recipe to accomodate 10 people. I also omitted the green pepper (not a favorite in our house). It then begged for something green so I sprinkled dried chives over the ham, potato, and sauce mixture and stirred it in. Also instead of bread crumbs I took a box of herb flavored Stove Top Stuffing and added just enough water to moisten it so that it was sprinkle-able (is that a word?LOL) and tender. I then baked as the recipe stated and just put the oven on broil for about 3 minutes to crisp the top! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was a winner at our dinner table. I followed the recipe pretty close, however I did add some celery seed and a little garlic powder. (My family loves garlic). We had no peppers, but I will try it with them in the future. It does taste a lot like a pot pie without the crust. Especially with the celery seed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious!!! My whole family loved it. My husband said this is a keeper, my daughter said "this is the best dinner you have made in a while"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I thought this was very good and will surely make it again. Instead of mixing the cheese in the sauce I put it on top with the bread crumbs. It turned out really yummy. Only change I would make next time is a little less bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My family loved this dish. Great way to used up left over ham and it doesn't look or taste like it's leftover. I used lactose free milk and cheese and it was still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States