Mother's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Loved this! Easy and very, very tasty. Made just small alterations to fit what I had on hand. Used left-over baked him from Easter, added some fresh green beans in with potatoes, and used Italian Panko breadcrumbs. Took to potluck and no leftovers. Recipe requested by many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I used leftover Easter ham and just 1 change. I added a container of the new Philadelphia cooking creame with garlic. Really gave the casserole a excellant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Creamy goodness! Although it took quite a bit of prep time, it was a nice change from the canned soup casseroles. I increased the servings to 6 and followed the recipe exactly, only I did add broccoli florets for extra veggies. Tasted even better the following day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Made exactly as written and it was very good! I halved the recipe and served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe was not only simple, but delicious! The prep is a little longer with having to cut everything; could be minimized by frozen veggies, but I prefer fresh. I love how versatile the recipe is as well. Potatoes can be substituted for rice or noodles and any veggie you like can replace the carrots. A definite 5 star in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar_Cher
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Good, homey comfort food. A great use for leftover ham. Everyone loved this casserole. Beware that it makes considerably more than 4 servings, unless you are feeding teenage boys and Dads. I'd say more like 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a super good casserole, when made as directed! This is delightful as is. I get tired of casseroles of hamburger and chicken..what a nice change. Thanks for sharing this with us..hopefully everyone will stick to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
So, I ended up substituting a bunch of stuff to make this a healthier dish, but I was so pleased with the final result I thought the original recipe deserved a good review! If you want to try it my way, I suggest: -3 Cups Brown rice in place of potatoes -3 tbp. Smart Balance in place of butter -Toasted and crumbled whole grain/wheat bread Also, I only had plain, cooked ham and I wanted more of a honey-baked taste. So, I added a squirts of mustard and honey. It was soooo yummy and soothing and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
changed some ingredients just because thats what i had.used mozzarella instead of cheddar.1/4 cup of italian bread crumbs,1/4 cup of cornflake crumbs.I also deleted the salt & cut down the first amount of butter by half.I wont wait for leftovers to make this again.Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I am not a big fan of ham but this was a very good casserole. I omitted the celery as I ran out and I was low on milk so used 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup 18%bf cream. I had some leftover green peas and threw them in also. I cut back on the salt but doubled the pepper. I added a bit more cheese than the recipe states also. Did away with the break crumb topping and didn't miss it. I will be doing this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States