Mother's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was outstanding! Like the others, I wanted to use up leftover ham from last SUMMER before I cooked another for the Christmas holidays. I didn't have green pepper so I used some leftover green beans. This got such rave reviews, the very next day I made another and froze it for a night in January when I don't feel like cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Wonderful! I was something other than ham and scalloped potatos to use up leftover ham, and I'm so glad I found this. I omitted the bell pepper and used dried bread crumbs, but otherwise stuck to the original recipe. It was fantastic! Kind of like a pot-pie without the crust. My husband said it's his new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Excellent! I'll definately make this again, it was a big hit with the kids! I will, however, omit the salt- it was too salty for our taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Wow so simple yet so good. I had brown sugar ham leftover from Easter and I wasn't sure how it would blend with the other flavors. Let me just say there wasn't a crumb left in the dish. I used dried bread crumbs on the top. Nice and crunchy in the corners just how I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My hubby and I loved this recipe - he thought it was hearty and filling and I loved the creaminess and simplicity yet richness of flavors. I used a package of cooked diced ham instead of leftover ham and cooked the ham, onion, and bell pepper in only 1 Tbsp of butter. I used only 3 Tbsp of butter for the creamy sauce, and it still turned out fine. (I felt that 7 Tbsp of butter was a bit too much!) I added lots of freshly ground pepper to the casserole and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Excellent! I only made a few changes. First of all I changed the recipe to accomodate 10 people. I also omitted the green pepper (not a favorite in our house). It then begged for something green so I sprinkled dried chives over the ham, potato, and sauce mixture and stirred it in. Also instead of bread crumbs I took a box of herb flavored Stove Top Stuffing and added just enough water to moisten it so that it was sprinkle-able (is that a word?LOL) and tender. I then baked as the recipe stated and just put the oven on broil for about 3 minutes to crisp the top! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was a winner at our dinner table. I followed the recipe pretty close, however I did add some celery seed and a little garlic powder. (My family loves garlic). We had no peppers, but I will try it with them in the future. It does taste a lot like a pot pie without the crust. Especially with the celery seed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious!!! My whole family loved it. My husband said this is a keeper, my daughter said "this is the best dinner you have made in a while"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I thought this was very good and will surely make it again. Instead of mixing the cheese in the sauce I put it on top with the bread crumbs. It turned out really yummy. Only change I would make next time is a little less bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My family loved this dish. Great way to used up left over ham and it doesn't look or taste like it's leftover. I used lactose free milk and cheese and it was still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States