Mother's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I fixed a big amount of this and it was gone in no time (all men). I sliced red potatotes to give more flavor; added green onions, carrots, peas and celery. Used cream of mushroom with milk and added medium cheddar to the mixture; poured over it; crushed about eight buttery crackers, mixed it with a little more medium cheddar and Monterey Pepper Jack cheese. Melted 1tblsp of butter mixed with that and put on top. Came out nice and crispy on top. Also put a little Cajun spice and minced garlic to give flavor. Everybody went nuts. I have to fix another batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
this recipe was sooo good! for sure comfort food! i doubled it and added extra green peppers and onions. kinda just played it by eye. the butter doesnt need to be doubled, and neither does the milk. and 3 cups of ham was plenty. i put it all in a 3 qt. dish. and for the sauce, i put about 5 tablespoons butter, and 5 tablespoons flour and 2 cups milk. just keep messing around with it until it is the consistency that u prefer. i added about a cup of cheese in that too and then i sprinkled some cheese on top of the bread crumbs. my whole family loved it! my sister took one bite and said "this is amazing!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Just made this casserole and it is soooo yummy! I sauteed the potatoes carrots first. Then I added celery, peppers, garlic and onions. That way everything could stay in one large skillet. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was wonderful! I wasn't feeling well so my hubby made it. He did a very good job too. He said it was easy to make altho he probably did put more of some of the ingredients because he wasn't measuring. We used leftover spiral sliced ham that I had diced and frozen. This casserole had great flavor and it's one we'll fix over and over again when we have leftover ham. Oh and let it rest a while after taking from the oven. I don't remember if the recipe states that or not but it really needs to cool some as the flavors will be even better when it does plus you won't burn your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Excellent! I'll definately make this again, it was a big hit with the kids! I will, however, omit the salt- it was too salty for our taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I thought this was very good and will surely make it again. Instead of mixing the cheese in the sauce I put it on top with the bread crumbs. It turned out really yummy. Only change I would make next time is a little less bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Excellent! I only made a few changes. First of all I changed the recipe to accomodate 10 people. I also omitted the green pepper (not a favorite in our house). It then begged for something green so I sprinkled dried chives over the ham, potato, and sauce mixture and stirred it in. Also instead of bread crumbs I took a box of herb flavored Stove Top Stuffing and added just enough water to moisten it so that it was sprinkle-able (is that a word?LOL) and tender. I then baked as the recipe stated and just put the oven on broil for about 3 minutes to crisp the top! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Wow so simple yet so good. I had brown sugar ham leftover from Easter and I wasn't sure how it would blend with the other flavors. Let me just say there wasn't a crumb left in the dish. I used dried bread crumbs on the top. Nice and crunchy in the corners just how I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is pretty good. It takes a long time to make, but it certainly qualifies as comfort food. It is a good way to use up holiday ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was outstanding! Like the others, I wanted to use up leftover ham from last SUMMER before I cooked another for the Christmas holidays. I didn't have green pepper so I used some leftover green beans. This got such rave reviews, the very next day I made another and froze it for a night in January when I don't feel like cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States