Mother's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
We really liked this recipe! I left out the green pepper, only sauteed the onion in 1 Tblsp. butter and sprinkled the cheese on top - all out of sheer laziness! I also left the bread crumbs off totally. We all thought this was good. It was a little thin, but maybe because of all of my changes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Kielsmeier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prentice, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My family really liked this meal. I was looking for a recipe I could use some left over ham in when I found this recipe. I did make a few changes only because I didn't have an onion and my husband can't eat green pepper. I used fresh mushrooms and diced pimentos in place of green pepper and onion. This is a keeper for my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was outstanding! Like the others, I wanted to use up leftover ham from last SUMMER before I cooked another for the Christmas holidays. I didn't have green pepper so I used some leftover green beans. This got such rave reviews, the very next day I made another and froze it for a night in January when I don't feel like cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Wonderful! I was something other than ham and scalloped potatos to use up leftover ham, and I'm so glad I found this. I omitted the bell pepper and used dried bread crumbs, but otherwise stuck to the original recipe. It was fantastic! Kind of like a pot-pie without the crust. My husband said it's his new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Excellent! I'll definately make this again, it was a big hit with the kids! I will, however, omit the salt- it was too salty for our taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was okay - do not understand the five star ratings - it's nothing special. It was edible but, I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Wow so simple yet so good. I had brown sugar ham leftover from Easter and I wasn't sure how it would blend with the other flavors. Let me just say there wasn't a crumb left in the dish. I used dried bread crumbs on the top. Nice and crunchy in the corners just how I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My hubby and I loved this recipe - he thought it was hearty and filling and I loved the creaminess and simplicity yet richness of flavors. I used a package of cooked diced ham instead of leftover ham and cooked the ham, onion, and bell pepper in only 1 Tbsp of butter. I used only 3 Tbsp of butter for the creamy sauce, and it still turned out fine. (I felt that 7 Tbsp of butter was a bit too much!) I added lots of freshly ground pepper to the casserole and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Excellent! I only made a few changes. First of all I changed the recipe to accomodate 10 people. I also omitted the green pepper (not a favorite in our house). It then begged for something green so I sprinkled dried chives over the ham, potato, and sauce mixture and stirred it in. Also instead of bread crumbs I took a box of herb flavored Stove Top Stuffing and added just enough water to moisten it so that it was sprinkle-able (is that a word?LOL) and tender. I then baked as the recipe stated and just put the oven on broil for about 3 minutes to crisp the top! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I PREPARED THIS RECIPE & WILL NOT WASTE MY TIME WITH THIS ONE AGAIN. MY HUSBAND NEVER COMPLAINS ABOUT ANYTHING I COOK BUT HE WROTE ME A NOTE THE NEXT MORNING SAYING "YOU HAVE DEFINITELY DONE BETTER IN THE PAST. PLEASE DON'T BOTHER KEEPING THIS RECIPE" SO I CHUCKED IT IN THE CAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States