Mother's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a great casserole to use up leftover ham. The ingredients are not exotic, and the prep time of the veggies reduces the oven bake time. To make it more heart-healthy, I reduced the butter by more than half by cooking the onion, green pepper & ham in one tablespoon of butter. When making the sauce, I melted two tablespoons of butter in a pan and placed the flour and milk in a tightly covered container and shook them until they were combined; then I poured that mixture into the melted butter, stirring constantly until thickened, adding the cheese as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I didn't have bread crumbs or cheddar cheese. So instead I used sliced cheese that you use for sandwiches (I know I was scared too) and instead of bread crumbs I used French fried onions. This was totally made from leftover Christmas ham, hence the French fried onions lol. We all loved it. Even talked about it the next day!! We were sad that I hadnt made more. Next time will deffinetly double for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was very yummy. I had lots of ham leftover from Christmas and this was a perfect recipe for it. It came together very quickly, as I had everything on had. I think I ended up using a little bit more cheese, an entire brick of sharp cheddar, but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe, but way too much salt. There is already salt in the butter (unless you use unsalted) and also in the cheese. You don't need more added to this really. By omitting the salt, this turned out delicious and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was a good way to use up leftover ham from Thanksgiving. I didn't read one important word in this recipe - "Drain" - and so mine turned out incredibly runny. I served it as soup, though, and it was still a hit. A little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! I am always looking for ways to use ham and this was terrific! Very easy too! I am definitely keeping this for future reference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Wonderful and easy to make! Did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This wasn't worth making. I used thawed chunk style hash browns, and already cubed cooked ham. I cooked the potatoes for just a few minutes, as I have had wonderful results in the past using them, and they turned to mush. The ham I cut into smaller pieces. It turned out more like mashed potatoes with ham. I tasted the sauce when it was done, and it was AWFULLY bland. I did what another reviewer said, and added the Philadelphia Cooking Creme, Garlic flavor. It was SO strong with garlic, I will never fear Vampires again. This could be a good base recipe, but you will have to tinker with it a LOT to get the results you want. I won't ever be making this mess again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was a hit at my house! I made no changes to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvaughn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I took this to a family who just had there 8th child and I was hopeful they would enjoy. The mother came up to me and said "Can I thank you for the most yummy meal" I asked did you really like it? and she said " Oh my goodness we licked the plates " I must admit I made a small dish and heated for my self and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisa lindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States