Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I just made this today for a family dinner. This recipe is so easy and tastes wonderful. Everyone at dinner was asking for seconds. I followed the recipe and added 1/2 cup more of coconut and 1/4 tsp of coconut extract. Will definately make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is very good, Also call the Amish Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wow, I am diabetic and made this exactly as the recipe states except substituted Splenda for the sugar and also added an extra half cup of coconut as some reviewers suggested. I also poured 2 tbs of fozen raspberries with the juice from some frozen raspberries I had defrosted on to the top of the pie before I put it in the oven. Feeling artistic I drizzeled the juice and few frozen raspberries onto the top of the coconut custard pie in a little pattern AND this thing was UNBELIEVABLE. I had to take my blood sugar again two and a half hours later to see I had made a mistake. This desert hardly moved my blood sugar up at all. It was 117 at an hour and a half after eating 1/3 of the pie and 119 two and a half hours afterward. I get five times that rise on one bagel. I really recommend this desert for anyone who is watching their diet and loves good food. The taste is to die for and the food impact is to not have to die for good deserts, even if you are a diabetic. Thanks Jo Pelletier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
great pie! I have never made a crust less pie before and was skeptical as to how it would slice out of the plate. The pie cuts were beautiful and it tasted like a giant macaroon. I will make this again when my mom comes to visit. I may trying to reduce the amount of sugar next time. many thanks Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I was looking for a great recipe which was similiar to Entermans that I could make myself using organic ingredients. This is it!!! I put it in a crust, and make sure not to add additional coconut. I added extra coconut once and it didnt turn out the same. One cup is perfect and allows the cocount flakes to float to the top and form a nice crust. Use freshly shaved organic coconut for the real deal (supermarket brands are dry and bland compared to fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The tatse is amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Next time I will leave it in the oven a little longer so it is more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very good :) We needed to get rid of some evaporated milk. Good way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Another tasty recipe....loved by all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Think custard pie with a floating coconut top. But don't think coconut pie or even flavor. I added 1/2 cup more coconut and it really was indifferent to the taste but over flowed my 9 inch graham cracker crust. This was deliious both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Definitely keeping this recipe on file. I made two 9 inch pies with this recipe and added a little more than 1 cup of coconut. Tried it both hot and cold and all I can say is DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States