Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I love this recipe!! I mixed it all together except for the coconut, poured it into my greased and floured pyrex, then I sprinkled 1c. of coconut over the top and gently tapped it into the custard with the back of a fork until it sunk down a bit. Baked for 45 min. and it turned out with a beautiful golden crust on top. I let it cool before cutting it, and it came out of the pie plate with no trouble at all. Thank-you for sharing such a great recipe!!!!! The flavor and texture were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This didnt really do anything for me or my coconut loving fiance. I added another 1/2 cup of coconut but it still lacked enough and the taste was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I used sweetened coconut - didn't know there was a difference. Pie is now cooling and it looks perfect (45 min. to bake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This pie is AWESOME!!! It has such a great creamy custard taste! The coconut floats to the top and gets nice and golden! I did have to cook it about 50 minutes before it was set in the center. The taste is good when it's warm, but is amazing once it gets cold!! Made it just as written with the exception of cook time! I will try to make it with Splenda as suggested, but only for my diabetic family members. I want mine just as it is! Thank you for this AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is a delicious pie and I cannot wait to serve it to my guests. So quick and easy to be so good! This will go in my permanent file. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is an old recipe we call "Impossible Pie". I put everything in the blender and pour into lightly greased pie pan. I use 2% milk instead. GREEEAAATTTT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Is it just me or does the photo look like the pie has a crust? I'm glad one review stated it was a crustless pie-they need to use an ACTUAL photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I just made this today for a family dinner. This recipe is so easy and tastes wonderful. Everyone at dinner was asking for seconds. I followed the recipe and added 1/2 cup more of coconut and 1/4 tsp of coconut extract. Will definately make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is very good, Also call the Amish Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wow, I am diabetic and made this exactly as the recipe states except substituted Splenda for the sugar and also added an extra half cup of coconut as some reviewers suggested. I also poured 2 tbs of fozen raspberries with the juice from some frozen raspberries I had defrosted on to the top of the pie before I put it in the oven. Feeling artistic I drizzeled the juice and few frozen raspberries onto the top of the coconut custard pie in a little pattern AND this thing was UNBELIEVABLE. I had to take my blood sugar again two and a half hours later to see I had made a mistake. This desert hardly moved my blood sugar up at all. It was 117 at an hour and a half after eating 1/3 of the pie and 119 two and a half hours afterward. I get five times that rise on one bagel. I really recommend this desert for anyone who is watching their diet and loves good food. The taste is to die for and the food impact is to not have to die for good deserts, even if you are a diabetic. Thanks Jo Pelletier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States