Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Great Pie! I have made it a number of times for my wife and I. Easy and great flavor. The advice of baking 45 minutes and adding 1 and a half cups of coconut by other reviewers is good advice. I made one pie leaving out the coconut and grating in a teaspoon of nutmeg and made a great plain custard pie. This is simple to make and will please a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cfeigel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Didn't think this would work...but it was AWESOME!! Very easy to make. Only change...added 1/2 cup more coconut. IT's A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I substituted coconut extract for the vanilla. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
best pie ever tasted, very easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious pie! It was simple to put together quickly with ingredients I already had on hand. It is moist, tasty, and oh so simple! Will definately make it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Love it! I'm a diabetic and followed the advice of another diabetic 'rater' making it with Splenda, adding 1/2 c more coconut plus some frozen raspberries and baked for 45 min. it came out perfect, even my husband had some & he's not diabetic. Next time I'm going to add more raspberries, they really added a nice flavour & it looked pretty enough to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I love this recipe!! I mixed it all together except for the coconut, poured it into my greased and floured pyrex, then I sprinkled 1c. of coconut over the top and gently tapped it into the custard with the back of a fork until it sunk down a bit. Baked for 45 min. and it turned out with a beautiful golden crust on top. I let it cool before cutting it, and it came out of the pie plate with no trouble at all. Thank-you for sharing such a great recipe!!!!! The flavor and texture were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This didnt really do anything for me or my coconut loving fiance. I added another 1/2 cup of coconut but it still lacked enough and the taste was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I used sweetened coconut - didn't know there was a difference. Pie is now cooling and it looks perfect (45 min. to bake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This pie is AWESOME!!! It has such a great creamy custard taste! The coconut floats to the top and gets nice and golden! I did have to cook it about 50 minutes before it was set in the center. The taste is good when it's warm, but is amazing once it gets cold!! Made it just as written with the exception of cook time! I will try to make it with Splenda as suggested, but only for my diabetic family members. I want mine just as it is! Thank you for this AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States