Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is the best coconut custard pie ever and possibly the easiest. No changes, made recipe as written, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Sherwood
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I made this for my mom on Mother's Day and she loved it! It was fluffy and I drizzled raspberry juice on it and it was amazing! If a 14 year old boy can make this perfectly anyone can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Sherwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Very, very good! I substituted stevia for sugar and used 6oz of half n half, 6oz coconut milk instead of 12oz evaporated milk. I too added about a cup more of shredded coconut. Before serving pour some of the remaining coconut milk on the plate & stream a chocolate or fruit syrup design. Place the pie on the coconut milk, top with carmelized pineapple bits, toasted coconut, fruit or chocolate shavings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
easy to make and very tasty. I made it for pi day (3/14). I used gluten free flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Pleasant texture and taste, simple to make, but I missed a crust/crustlike texture at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I had some Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut that I had to use up when I came upon this recipe. So I eliminated the evaporated milk, used 8 oz Coco Lopez, 4 oz whole milk, 1 1/2 cups sweetened flaked coconut, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp coconut extract in place of the vanilla. Baked for 50 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great pie. Anything with coconut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senegal2c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Oh my goodness, I can't get enough of this! I've made this, three times now, with a couple changes. I do not care for the taste of evaporated milk so I replaced the 12 ounces of evaporated milk with 6 ounces of heavy cream and 6 ounces of whole milk. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg. (I use only Spice Islands spices. Some of this brand's products are a bit pricey but they really do make the difference!) This pie is so rich and creamy - almost like coconut flan. Very simple. Just follow instructions and it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Ely&Nino
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I substituted the evaporated milk for sweetened condensed milk and left out the cup of sugar, as I could not find any evaporated milk here. It turned out so delicious that I'll be making it again and again. As decoration/topping I whipped a package of cream with half a teaspoon Pandan flavoured green paste and 1 spoon of sugar. Thanks for this GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ely&Nino

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashford, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Wow!!! It was very easy to make and tasted excellent. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out amazing. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States