Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Great flavor! It made a large batch everyone gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Venango, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
At first I thought that there would be too much allspice and cinnamon -- one tablespoon of each sounded like an awful lot -- but it was just perfect. I used chunky applesauce and the muffins were so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Ike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
With an abundance of homemade applesauce that I made and froze this fall, I have been looking for recipes to use it up! I will keep making these! I did make a few changes to make them healthier-I halved the recipe...I replaced one cup of flour with 1/4 cup wheat germ and 3/4 cup oats. I subbed the butter for fat free sour cream and I cut the sugar amount in half. I also added about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts! I got 12 big and yummy, moist and delicous muffins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My family absolutely loved these muffins. I used unsweetened applesauce (which for our family made them just sweet enough) and I used 21/2 cups applesauce instead of 2 cups which made them moist. also I did not have ground allspice, I had either whole allspice or pumpkin allspice, so I used the pumpkin allspice. This recipe is the best and so easy to use. I hardly ever make things from scratch nor do I cook, my husband does al ot of the cooking. Cooking is just not the thing I love to do, but this was so easy to follow and to add to. Got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I also added a little brown sugar on top before baking and it gave it a wonderful texture and added sweetness! Super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Yesterday I told my husband that I found a great "Cinnamon-Raisin Muffin" recipe (his favorite kind). Then I made some changes to this recipe, as follows: 1 1/4 c white flour, 1 1/4 c whole wheat, 1 c rolled oats, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2 c butter with 2 1/2 c applesauce and 1 1/2 c raisins (soaked in hot water to plump them up), 1 c brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar...everything else I left the same. I topped with a little brown sugar, too. He LOVED it!!!! He usually just picks at the recipes from this site because I'm always trying to make them healthy, so this time I didn't say anything and he has NO idea that he's eating something that is actually somewhat good for him! I'm still giggling over it! ** Next time I will put in 2 c of raisins; even with the extra 1/2 c it didn't seem like there were that many.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used 1/2 c AP flour, 1/2 c bread flour; nutmeg and cloves instead of allspice; 1 shredded apple and 1/2 c of applesauce (because I didn't have enough applesauce); and soaked the raisins in vodka first. Mmmm mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These are really wonderful. I omitted the raisens, hubby and son hate them. I cut the recipe in half and added a pinch of cloves and ginger, just because I like them in any "spice" type dish. These muffins were great, and the whole family loved them. I also used half whole-wheat flour just to make them a bit healthier. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States