Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These muffins are awesome! I used 3 cups of flour and 1 cup of rolled oats, 2 cups of sweetened chunky applesauce, 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown and added 1/2 cup of shredded carrot along with the raisins. I altered the spices a bit: 1 tbsp. of cinnamon, 2 tsp. of cinnamon, 2 tsp. of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. of allspice, 1/4 tsp. of cloves. I used an over sized muffin tin and got a dozen huge muffins. I topped them with a mixture of cinnamon sugar and they not only smelled good but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
With an abundance of homemade applesauce that I made and froze this fall, I have been looking for recipes to use it up! I will keep making these! I did make a few changes to make them healthier-I halved the recipe...I replaced one cup of flour with 1/4 cup wheat germ and 3/4 cup oats. I subbed the butter for fat free sour cream and I cut the sugar amount in half. I also added about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts! I got 12 big and yummy, moist and delicous muffins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These are really wonderful. I omitted the raisens, hubby and son hate them. I cut the recipe in half and added a pinch of cloves and ginger, just because I like them in any "spice" type dish. These muffins were great, and the whole family loved them. I also used half whole-wheat flour just to make them a bit healthier. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I cut this recipe back by half to get 12 muffins. I used vegetable oil in place of the butter and I halved the amount of vegetable oil and used more unsweetened applesauce. For more texture, I threw in one large shredded Granny Smith apple. My muffins were done baking at 22 minutes as they were a little on the larger side. Very nice muffin--chewy, moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Good with a few changes- added cloves and nutmeg in addition to the allspice and cinnamon. Also added about a cup of shredded apple. Brushed the tops of the muffins (once baked) with a little butter, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
At first I thought that there would be too much allspice and cinnamon -- one tablespoon of each sounded like an awful lot -- but it was just perfect. I used chunky applesauce and the muffins were so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My family loved these! My 4 year old could not get enough of them. I followed some of the others suggestions, I used a cup of rolled oats for a cup of the flour. I used only 1 cup of white sugar, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also stired in a 1/2 cup of chopped apple. Then I chopped some more apple and sprinkled them on top just before baking. I am going to be sending these wonderful muffins to my son's preschool for snack next week! I am sure all the kids will love them as much as he did. Thank-you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Theses were pretty good, not overly sweet, so I'm glad I sprinkled a little brown sugar over the top before baking. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I also added a little brown sugar on top before baking and it gave it a wonderful texture and added sweetness! Super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Yesterday I told my husband that I found a great "Cinnamon-Raisin Muffin" recipe (his favorite kind). Then I made some changes to this recipe, as follows: 1 1/4 c white flour, 1 1/4 c whole wheat, 1 c rolled oats, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2 c butter with 2 1/2 c applesauce and 1 1/2 c raisins (soaked in hot water to plump them up), 1 c brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar...everything else I left the same. I topped with a little brown sugar, too. He LOVED it!!!! He usually just picks at the recipes from this site because I'm always trying to make them healthy, so this time I didn't say anything and he has NO idea that he's eating something that is actually somewhat good for him! I'm still giggling over it! ** Next time I will put in 2 c of raisins; even with the extra 1/2 c it didn't seem like there were that many.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States