Mother's Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Great flavor! It made a large batch everyone gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Venango, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
At first I thought that there would be too much allspice and cinnamon -- one tablespoon of each sounded like an awful lot -- but it was just perfect. I used chunky applesauce and the muffins were so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Theses were pretty good, not overly sweet, so I'm glad I sprinkled a little brown sugar over the top before baking. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Ike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
With an abundance of homemade applesauce that I made and froze this fall, I have been looking for recipes to use it up! I will keep making these! I did make a few changes to make them healthier-I halved the recipe...I replaced one cup of flour with 1/4 cup wheat germ and 3/4 cup oats. I subbed the butter for fat free sour cream and I cut the sugar amount in half. I also added about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts! I got 12 big and yummy, moist and delicous muffins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My family absolutely loved these muffins. I used unsweetened applesauce (which for our family made them just sweet enough) and I used 21/2 cups applesauce instead of 2 cups which made them moist. also I did not have ground allspice, I had either whole allspice or pumpkin allspice, so I used the pumpkin allspice. This recipe is the best and so easy to use. I hardly ever make things from scratch nor do I cook, my husband does al ot of the cooking. Cooking is just not the thing I love to do, but this was so easy to follow and to add to. Got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! I also added a little brown sugar on top before baking and it gave it a wonderful texture and added sweetness! Super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Yesterday I told my husband that I found a great "Cinnamon-Raisin Muffin" recipe (his favorite kind). Then I made some changes to this recipe, as follows: 1 1/4 c white flour, 1 1/4 c whole wheat, 1 c rolled oats, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2 c butter with 2 1/2 c applesauce and 1 1/2 c raisins (soaked in hot water to plump them up), 1 c brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar...everything else I left the same. I topped with a little brown sugar, too. He LOVED it!!!! He usually just picks at the recipes from this site because I'm always trying to make them healthy, so this time I didn't say anything and he has NO idea that he's eating something that is actually somewhat good for him! I'm still giggling over it! ** Next time I will put in 2 c of raisins; even with the extra 1/2 c it didn't seem like there were that many.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My children gobbled them right up! Very nice flavor. Thanks ... it's a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States